Banding Woodrow

Today Steve decided he would band the newest calf (now named Woodrow) so he could then get Woodrow and Bessy (his Mom) moved to the next box stall, so he could then muck out the box stall they are in before it freezes hard this weekend.

In a slight lapse of memory, I volunteered to help.  What the hell was I thinking?  I have been down this road before.  I have very little experience,  (ok, next to none) even less strength, and absolutely NO business being in the box stall with Steve, a strong 80-90 lb calf, a rope, a camera and a banding tool.  Oh, ye of little faith.  I had enough interest, determination and balls to help band that little guy’s balls.  yeah.  I did.  I thought I did.

Hey little Woodrow, c’mon over here.  I have something for you.

hpim1047.jpg

There ya go, I got a rope for you.  You like it?  Not much huh?

hpim1048.jpg

well it’s ok, we are just gonna have you lay down here and rest while Gayle holds your head down, (as she lays half way across his neck and holds his front feet and rope while trying to take pictures)

hpim1049.jpg

see this little banding tool?  looks scary, but it wont hurt ya Woodrow.  And Steve is gonna be feeling all around……trying to be sure that both of em get thru that little rubberband before he snaps the tool……

hpim1050.jpg

First try….

hpim1051.jpg

21st try…….

hpim1052.jpg

Even Gayle tried.  And Steve tried again. Then the tool didnt work right.  So we quit and let little Woodrow free to run right back to his Mama.

Ahhh, relief!

hpim1054.jpg

And the whole time, Bessy was hollering at Woodrow.  And the bull, Woodrow’s Daddy was right outside the gate snorting with disdain.

I hear what’s goin on in there…..

hpim1055.jpg

I see what you are doing to my boy…….

hpim1058.jpg

I can smell it too…..

hpim1059.jpg

By the time we let Woodrow go, I almost couldnt get up.  I had been kneeling in the hay/chit/pee/muck and my knees were covered in it.  My whole body was tremoring (a typical MS thing for me after doing physical stress stuff) and I had to just stand for 10 mins hanging on to the gate before I could walk.  Steve was fine, ready to give it another go.  He needs to find someone else to help him.  But at least we tried.

Woodrow is fine too, by the way.  And is still a little bull.  Hopefully that banding job will get done in the next week or so and he will become a steer.

After a shower, and washing all our stinky clothes, life looks good again!  Bet it does to Woodrow too……for the moment!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deb Levy
    Jan 17, 2008 @ 21:35:01

    Well, that was an interesting day! For all of you.

    Just letting you know you get the “Make my day award” Between the quilting art and farm life..your blog makes it interesting and fun for me to participate in blogland.

    Better luck with Woodrow next time :0)

    Reply

  2. Vicki W
    Jan 17, 2008 @ 22:14:39

    LOL! Great story! Now you have recorded the experience on your blog so that next time that Steve asks you to help you can read your archives before you agree.

    Reply

  3. Sharon Dixon
    Jan 18, 2008 @ 00:13:39

    Gayle, you do have an interesting life!

    Reply

  4. Spavlov
    Jan 18, 2008 @ 14:26:54

    Lordy I glad that wasn’t on my “to do ” list for the day …………………….I would not have made it …………………You would have to just leave me in the barn ……………………Sally

    Reply

  5. janthompson
    Jan 18, 2008 @ 20:24:28

    Ya know, Gayle, you could’ve gotten Flat Stanley to do that for ya!

    Reply

  6. Tina Chamberlain
    Jan 19, 2008 @ 20:03:15

    I’m just glad Woodrow has a couple of extra days… it doesn’t sound fun! I wouldn’t be good at helping much either! Jan had a great idea – maybe Flat Stanley can fly in from Amarillo to help out!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

