Binding the Sharon Schamber Way (sorta)

I am a huge fan of Sharon Schamber’s work.  (For you non-quilters, Sharon is a longarm quilter, quilter, artist and major award winner at all the biggest quilt shows) I have had the privilege of seeing her quilts in person, and in my opinion, nobody’s work can come close to hers.  Yep, others are good.  Darn good.  Beyond anything I can or will do.  But Sharon is in a class of her own.  I think it is her artistry, her attention to detail, her use of color, and the total package she puts together, that sets her apart from the rest.

Sharon has acquired quite a following.  She has many fans around the world, but even more now that she has online videos for free.  You can also join her network and have more videos available to you.  I haven’t paid for a membership, but I am considering it.  I am conservative, cautious, and not good at “following the crowd”.  (really?  you’ve noticed?)

I dont  agree with “all things Sharon”.  Not at all.  I haven’t changed the needle bar height, the length of needles, the thread path or other things she suggests.  And I dont plan to.  I like my new Gammill Classic Plus just the way it is, thank you very much.  I am open to new ideas and methods, but I live in the camp that says “if it isnt broken, dont fix it”.

But I was willing to try her binding technique.  I hate to bind.  So when I saw her pull out the Elmer’s glue, I thought…. now THERE is my kind of gal.

(As an aside… when I teach art quilting classes, I REQUIRE glue, and no sewing.   Traditional quilters find that shocking.  It is so easy and fast for a half day class.  So you can imagine how tickled I was to see that Sharon uses glue.)

I did change a couple of things to make it “MY” way.  (I know, your’e shocked!)  Instead of using spray starch, I used spray sizing.  I am allergic to starch and the sizing works too.  I did try the Elmer’s.  I dont know why.  When I tried it in the past for my own art,  I ended up throwing all the Elmer’s in the garbage.  It is useless to me.  So I went and bought some.  In fact, I bought 2 bottles.  I dont know why…… except I probably forgot what the problem with Elmer’s is for me.  I did try Elmer’s school glue, as she recommends.  I ended up setting it aside and using my tried and true Aleene’s Tacky Glue.  Love the stuff.  It is indeed tacky.  The Elmer’s is so runny and thin and wet that it is much harder to use, in my opinion.  Glue for the landfill.

Anyway, I like her method.  For the project below, I wasn’t able to use all of her steps, but I will for the next regular straight binding I do.

Thanks for the free tips and techniques in your videos Sharon.  Your generosity is certainly appreciated! (Isn’t she a smart business woman and marketer?  To give a little away free and make me want to go back and buy more?)

This is the start, and I have a long way around to go.

hpim1635.jpg

hpim1636.jpg

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anita aka Grannypatches
    Mar 15, 2008 @ 06:23:58

    I’m glad to hear that I’m not the only one keeping the Gammill ‘as is’ and not following Sharon’s example. I agree… if it ain’t broke… why fix it. I’ve read comments by other Gammill owners who have found the changes don’t work for them.

    Reply

  2. gomomma
    Mar 15, 2008 @ 11:54:06

    Ditto!

    Reply

  3. sammi
    Mar 15, 2008 @ 12:55:51

    Uhhhh can you explain this please? I see the intial binding on the hexagons … are you also binding the floral it is sitting on? Looks like it is also cut for binding ……..

    Reply

  4. Gayle
    Mar 15, 2008 @ 13:14:47

    Sammi,
    The floral that is kinda yellow and very small, that is the backing fabric on the quilt. So the picture is of the front (purple and green) that has the corner flipped over on top of the back. Just for contrast so you could see the binding. Do I need to take another pic for ya? The binding is attached by machine on the front already. I am still in process of flipping and gluing and sewing to the back. Clear as mud I am sure.

    Gayle

    Reply

  5. sammi
    Mar 15, 2008 @ 16:26:40

    Thanks for the explanation! Love the binding – and I second the motion for Aleene’s Tacky Glue.

    Reply

  6. TeresaL
    Mar 15, 2008 @ 19:29:57

    Okay, so the binding looks very nicely done so now I feel the need to go watch a video ;) . Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  7. AllenQuilts
    Mar 16, 2008 @ 10:44:00

    I love Sharon’s videos. I take from them what I think will work for me or help me. Sometimes I’m watching and think, “wow, this woman is a genius”. I love her raw edge applique videos….with GLUE…not fusible…I’m looking forward to trying that out. Her latest quilt that she recently posted small peeks of is to die for.

    Reply

  8. The Quiltwhinny
    May 07, 2008 @ 17:34:14

    I just went to Sharon’s site and she asked how I found her site, so I copy and pasted your website there. Have just aquired high-speed internet so having fun checking out the quilting blogs.
    quiltwhinneytrails.blogspot.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

