Easter Basket

Steve likes holidays.  He has been planning Easter day (which means dinner)  for a week.

Yesterday he decided that he better vacuum because it was going to be Easter.  (I have no idea why it mattered, nobody was coming over…. but hey, who am I to argue with a man with a vacuum in his hands?)  After he finished, he decided he needed to empty the vacuum before the cleaning gal comes Wednesday.   One task led to another…. which meant then he was taking the vacuum apart to clean the beater bar.  Oh my.  It surely did need it!  That is thread…… the danger of living in a house with 2 quilters!

hpim1737.jpg

So awhile ago I said Steve had been planning Easter dinner all week.  That means he sent me to the store with the grocery list.  And MY checkbook!  He prepares most the holiday meals.  Mainly because he loves gravy on his mashed taters and I wont make it.  He does a better job, and I dont care if we have it or not… so he makes gravy.  And most everything else.  Today he did the gravy, taters, ham, vegetable and I made the sweet potatoes.  Since today was also my birthday, he went all out and baked a frozen cherry pie too!  I tell ya, this guy is worth keeping…… he likes to cook!

While he cooked, I quilted.  I was working on quilting one of my own quilts.  I also finished the binding and label on Elizabeth’s quilt.   I stayed busy all day doing other jobs too… you know, the dishes and laundry… the things that always need to be done.

As busy as I was, I wasnt too busy to notice that the Easter Bunny came today.  I got up this morning to see some candy on the table of my Gammill quilting machine.  Hmm…. it looked vaguely familiar.  But I rarely pass chocolate without at least noticing it!

Steve spent the morning doing his outside chores, then cooking.  He never thought about the Easter Bunny…..until finally, about 4 this afternoon, he discovered that the Easter Bunny came to see him too.

hpim1745.jpg

So, click on that picture to make it larger.  See the “nesting material”?

Wanna know what Steve said?

Hope you had as pleasant a day as we did!