One Block Wonder Started

It’s all Connor’s fault. He posted a beautiful One Block Wonder quilt on MQResources and I was smitten with it. I love Stack n Whack anyway, and this is just a different way of doing it. I had seen lots of OBW quilts, never liked them much. They seemed too mushy, too busy, no continuity. Then I borrowed Phylis’ book to figure out what those less interesting ones were missing, and why Connor’s was so terrific.

Like most quilts…… its all in the fabric choice. I read the book, went to the store looking for the “perfect” fabric. Not sure if it is going to be a great OBW or not, but I love the results so far.

For you Phylis:

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vicki W
    Jul 08, 2008 @ 22:22:45

    It’s looking great so far!

    Reply

  2. Ruthie
    Jul 08, 2008 @ 22:56:08

    It’s looking good! I haven’t read the book yet, but am anxious to get started. I would love to see your fabric.

    I will post photos of the fabric in the next few days for you Ruthie.
    Gayle

    Reply

  3. sammi
    Jul 09, 2008 @ 00:35:48

    I love it, too! I think Connor’s had that “negative” space in it (the blue) that made his “flow”. But since you can do magic with whatever fabric you touch, I can’t wait to see the “final product” !!

    Reply

  4. shirley bruner
    Jul 09, 2008 @ 09:35:40

    i love those quilts, too. you are on the right path…it is looking great so far

    Reply

  5. Adam Chenevert
    Jul 09, 2008 @ 12:58:57

    this is gonna be hot

    Reply

  6. freda1951
    Jul 09, 2008 @ 19:13:34

    Love the fabrics Gayle. I may have to try that.

    Reply

  7. KK
    Jul 09, 2008 @ 19:42:12

    My very favorite colors……..you can send it to me if you decide it’s not great. I know it’s going to be just fabulous, though.

    Reply

  8. Jo Ann
    Jul 11, 2008 @ 01:32:01

    Great fabric, Gayle! I love those colors.

    Reply

  9. Deb Levy
    Jul 11, 2008 @ 20:50:55

    Love, love, love those colors Gayle! This is gonna be great!

    Reply

  10. Janet Sparfven
    Sep 15, 2011 @ 23:29:36

    I love the colors in your OBW. Planning to make one for my son. Which fabric did you use? Thanks, Janet S.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

