Milk Veins

I dont know much about dairy cattle.  Actually, I dont know much about ANY cattle, except what I see with our small Hereford/Angus herd.

When we were at the fair last week, I wondered what these big bulging vein looking things were on the cows udders.  I asked one of the owners there in the barn, and she said they were milk veins.  The bigger they bulge, the better the judges like it.

Hey!  What are YOU lookin at???

We also saw triplet calves.  Cows only have triplets in approx 1 in 105,000 births.  Here they are:

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jan
    Sep 08, 2008 @ 11:13:00

    I had no clue on milk veins either and I grew up and live in the middle of cattle country. See… we learn so much from your blog! :-D And I am really feeling sorry for the mom of those triplet cows……. wow…..

    Reply

  2. SallyP
    Sep 08, 2008 @ 13:44:17

    I am sorry we had to miss the fair …..love your pictures and information………………Sally

    Reply

  3. freda1951
    Sep 08, 2008 @ 16:50:48

    The triplets are cute as button, the milk veins I had never heard of.

    Reply

  4. myolivebranch
    Sep 08, 2008 @ 23:00:49

    things that make you go hmmmm……gayle’s blog :)

    Reply

  5. Nancy H
    Sep 14, 2008 @ 19:23:14

    Hoo-boy that poor gal needs a link to the skin & vein center. lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

