UFO 2

Another UFO I dragged out:

Stack n Whack (for non-quilters, it is a method of stacking the fabric exactly on top of each pattern repeat to make a kaleidoscope effect).  I bought this fabric 10 years ago, and still love it.  This is one of my favorite stack n whack quilts, and I have made MANY.

So why did I put it away to become a UFO?

well…..

See how NOTHING MATCHES???  the points dont match where I put the stacked blocks next to the blue/white blocks.  sigh…. I hate when this happens.  So I ripped the blocks apart, redid it and it STILL was fricken off.  I REALLY hate when THAT happens.  So it became a UFO.

Fast forward a few nine years.  I decided to proceed anyway and make it a dog blanket.  Cept we have no dog.  A cow blanket?  nah…..

So in putting it together, I had decisions to make.  Because I dont like the way this looks on the side at all.  The design looks unfinished.  Look along the right side to see what I mean:

Ok, so here’s a plan:

Sometimes you need to think outside the box for design solutions.  Often, a design comes about because you are disguising a flaw of one kind or another.  So here is what I am doing to cover up the major mistakes in unmatched points my design solution:

So here it is done.  Well, not done, because I ran out of rick rack.  I need 5 more pkgs to finish it and move it out of my UFO pile to the cabinet for quilting.

Steve and I have had some flu bug this weekend.  He still is not good, but I feel MUCH better, thank you very much.  Hopefully he will bounce back tomorrow.

Hope everyone else had a great weekend.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vicki W
    Sep 28, 2008 @ 20:42:04

    Gayle, that was a brilliant solution! There’s some kind of crud going around here as well. I hope you are both feeling better soon.

    Reply

  2. sammi
    Sep 28, 2008 @ 21:20:03

    Hmmmmm I was wondering where the rick rack was gonna come in. Brilliant!

    Reply

  3. KK
    Sep 28, 2008 @ 21:56:56

    Definitely BRILLIANT! It’s going to look really cool after you purchase and apply the rest of that rick rack.

    Reply

  4. Ruthie
    Sep 29, 2008 @ 09:39:36

    What a great idea to use the rick-rack. Can’t wait to see it quilted.

    Reply

  5. Brenda J
    Sep 29, 2008 @ 22:52:04

    OMG, I LOVE it!! Wow, that is really out of the box, and very, very cute. Great idea! Can’t wait to see it done!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

