The Art of Racing in the Rain

I just finished listening to this on CD this week:

It took me about a week to listen to the whole book, lots of interruptions since I listen while I quilt.  The Art of Racing in the Rain is not an all time favorite, but I did enjoy it.  Parts seemed hokey to me, but much of it was fun, or sad or profound.  Some parts made me cry.  It hit me pretty close to home on the issue of death and dying.  The book is told from the dog’s point of view.  And there is alot about car racing.  More about car racing than I cared to know…. but that’s ok.  It really does help the book in the long run.

Ok, so I’m no book reviewer.  Just know what I like and what I dont.  I would like to get this book when it comes out in paperbook and actually read it rather than listen to it.  I will say this about the audio version…. the man reading was excellent.  You can hear a clip of him reading on the link above.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vicki W
    Oct 24, 2008 @ 21:07:55

    I liked this one too but I thought I read it on YOUR advice but I read it before you! LOL! The reader was excellent.

    Reply

  2. Gina
    Oct 25, 2008 @ 13:32:33

    Sounds like one that Walt would enjoy commute/audio. Thanks, I’ll go see if its available:)

    Reply

  3. Cinda
    Oct 25, 2008 @ 15:27:41

    Ive not heard of it, but sounds interesting to me. i like dogs AND car racing. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

