Little Goldie Goldfish

I have a fish that hangs in our studio above my Gammill longarm quilt machine.   As soon as I saw them in the store, I bought one to send my sister.  A week later, I went back to get one for myself.  Her name is Goldie.

As a little girl, one of my first memories, is of my sisters singing Little Goldie Goldfish.  It is one of the first songs I ever learned and have sung it with my sister(s) my entire life.

I hope to add some other fish some day….. I think she looks lonesome.

100_0429

And in case you forgot the words, here is the song:

Little Goldie Goldfish

<!– /* Style Definitions */ p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal {mso-style-parent:””; margin:0in; margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:12.0pt; font-family:”Times New Roman”; mso-fareast-font-family:”Times New Roman”;} @page Section1 {size:8.5in 11.0in; margin:1.0in 1.25in 1.0in 1.25in; mso-header-margin:.5in; mso-footer-margin:.5in; mso-paper-source:0;} div.Section1 {page:Section1;} –>


/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:10.0pt;
font-family:”Times New Roman”;}

Little Goldie Goldfish

Come out and play with me

Little Goldie Goldfish

I’m lonesome as can be
Gee I wish I was a fish

and I could swim like you

We’d catch a whale

by the tail

and sail the ocean blue.


Life would be delicious

we’d frolic with our fins
All the other goldfish

would think that we were twins
we’d build a home of seaweed

at the bottom of the sea


Little Goldie Goldfish

Little Goldie Goldfish

Little Goldie Goldfish
Come out and play with me.

I sing with my fish every day.  I try to do it when Steve is outside, because he doesnt appreciate it that my Mom never sent me for singing lessons.

29 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jan
    Nov 23, 2008 @ 20:22:00

    ROTFLOL See?! Now you will get the hits instead of me! Go Gayle!!! By the way, that does look like a webkinz one and if it is, you DID get the underwater room… you have to log in and use the id number on the little blue tag. And then you can play long distance battleship, checkers and other fun games with the grands ;-)

    Jan,
    Yes, it is a webkinz goldfish. I almost bought the little blue one too, but didnt cave in yet! I considered registering and doing the long distance stuff with the grands….. but the Mom says no….. and her word is final! lol. I respect that actually. She would have to sit with E to do that… and its not like they have lots of extra time on their hands either.
    But thanks for the thought! Maybe in another year or 2.

    Gayle

    Reply

  2. Jan
    Nov 23, 2008 @ 21:10:42

    LOL You can always challenge your sister ROTFLOL The princess & the cabana boy play when he’s on the road. It’s a hoot… but it definitely helps me have a quiet moment when he’s on the road and she feels connected.

    Reply

  3. AllenQuilts
    Nov 23, 2008 @ 21:54:41

    Cute! I had a real one that looked a lot like that for several years. She got pretty big.

    Reply

  4. myolivebranch
    Nov 24, 2008 @ 06:40:15

    cute cute cute! can’t wait to see your school of fish grow.

    Reply

  5. cinda
    Nov 24, 2008 @ 10:26:48

    I *heart* little goldie goldfish. Aunt Diana used to sing it to me…

    Reply

  6. TeresaL
    Nov 25, 2008 @ 17:00:06

    Cute goldfish! A couple of my grands have Webkinz and I knew only that they could do ‘something’ online connected with them. I didn’t realize how much they could do.

    Reply

  7. BeckyP
    Nov 25, 2008 @ 17:02:06

    I love your Goldie Fish! I just started Bella with the WebKinz. I bought her a pony (that she named Celina), pajamas, and a santa outfit. She loves it! I am going to be a grandma again in 10 days! Bella will turn 6 Dec 7th and Eden Jp will be born Dec 5th. Whitney sure knows how to plan her babies…NOT!!! I am so excited!! Also I will officially be divorced tomorrow morning, Nov 26th, when the judge puts his stamp on the paperwork! What a Happy Thanksgiving it will be!!! Happy Thanksgiving to you and Steve too….sorry to hear about your foot!

    Reply

  8. Ally
    Dec 17, 2008 @ 20:23:15

    do you have the music for the goldie goldfish song please a nurse where my mum is sings it to her and we have the words but not the music cheers Ally

    Ally,
    I sent you an email.
    Gayle

    Reply

  9. rosanne jamison
    Mar 30, 2009 @ 12:58:04

    i love this song, My little sister had this 45 when we were kids!!! Do you have or know where to hear the acual music??? I now have a granddaughter , she would love it.
    Thanks ,
    Rosanne

    Sorry, I dont know where to find it. You could Google it though….. that’s what I would do. It’s just a song my older sisters taught me when i was 4. That was more than 50 yrs ago. I dont remember ever having a record.
    Gayle

    Reply

  10. Becky
    Aug 22, 2009 @ 14:50:31

    I have been searching for the record that was on forever now. My brother can’t seem to remember the whole name of the record but thinks it had something to do with Winnie the Pooh and other children’s songs. Do you remember? I sing that song to my children all the time!

    Reply

  11. Glenn P.
    Oct 13, 2009 @ 02:58:40

    I have it. I am the Thoroughgoing Nostalgist, I keep EVERYTHING from my kidhood! I just have to find it on one of my multitudinous tapes.

    I can convert it to MP3 for you. I won’t even charge you for the privilege.

    If you send me your E-Mail address, when it’s done I’ll send it to you!

    What you sister neglected to tell you is that there is a “prologue” to the song (also sung):

    “While walking on the stree today, I passed a goldfish store
    And looking through the window was a boy you would adore
    His eyes were on a goldfish who kept looking at the boy
    Then suddenly the Little Fellow shouted out with joy:”

    …The rest is the song you know (which, by the bye, you remember perfectly, congratulations!).

    “Glenn P.,”

    User of Commodore64 & Commodore128 computers and programmer in BASIC since the mid1980′s! :)

    Reply

  12. Glenn P.
    Oct 13, 2009 @ 06:56:15

    Night Owl that I am, I have now found, and recorded, “Little Goldie Goldfish” for you as an MP3, remastered, stereoized, Dolby, 320kbps bitrate and 48kHz sample rate — the whole works! (By the way, I do believe it was performed by “The Caroleers”, as they commonly did kid’s songs during that period.)

    Now all I need to know is where to send it. :)

    Please let me know your E-Mail address (or tell me some place to upload it) and I’ll post it to you. (& Yer Welkum!)

    Bye! –C128User

    Reply

    • Vicki V-F
      Nov 05, 2009 @ 03:39:34

      My daughter used to sing Little Goldie Goldfish when she was 2 years old. It was her favorite song! I would love to get the music to it as I have forgotten the tune. My daughter is now in her 30s so it has been awhile since I heard it. I work with young children in schools and I am always adding new songs for them to sing. Can you tell me how I can get this song? Thanks. Vicki V-F

      Reply

    • Teresa Collingwood
      Nov 14, 2009 @ 13:43:26

      Hello,

      My mom sang that song to my brother and sisters and me when we were little. Now she’s singing it to our kids and all the other kids in the neighborhood.

      I would love to have the music and lyrics to this song, because my mom and my son (5) are planning on singing the song in a church talent show this year. She would love to have it too.

      Reply

    • Isabella
      Dec 04, 2009 @ 17:31:34

      May I have a copy emailed to me too?

      bhatch racing @ gmail . com

      Take the spaces out. I put the spaces in to stop any spam-bots that might be trolling

      Reply

    • Evelyn Wilson
      Jan 29, 2010 @ 15:15:42

      Hi, My name is Evelyn and my older sister use to sing this to me when I was little and now she has a four yr old daughter and I would love to suprise my sister with this song and let her daughter hear it, Is there anyway you could maybe send it to me please?
      If you wouldnt mind, my e-mail is Wegirls3@msn.com

      Thank You for your time,
      Evelyn Wilson

      Reply

    • Arden Taylor
      Apr 05, 2010 @ 16:01:03

      Little Goldie Goldfish was my favorite song when I was little. I still have a broken 78 that even though I have no way to play it, I couldn’t bear to get rid of it. Too many good memories. I would sing what I remembered of it to my now teenage sons while they were growing up. I would like to have a copy of this song if at all possible. May I please have a copy e-mailed to me? Thanks a million!!

      Reply

  13. Glenn P.
    Oct 13, 2009 @ 06:59:55

    By the Bye, “The Kiddie Rekord King” (http://www.kiddierekordking.com) will sell you this song. But why, when I’m offering it to you (and in a superior version!) for absolutely free?! :)

    Reply

  14. deb
    Dec 02, 2009 @ 11:26:37

    I would love to hear this song, anyone have it? pls send it to me!!!! pls!!! dls039@aol.com

    Reply

  15. Darby
    Jan 14, 2010 @ 23:43:45

    Hey I have been looking for this song. do you know where to download the album? It’s a favorite of mine from childhood as well.
    thanks!
    ~Darby

    Reply

  16. Dana
    Jan 29, 2010 @ 03:02:39

    I’d love it if you could send me the song too. I had the old 78 – loved it. I think it got lost in one of our moves. I’ve missed it ever since. Thank You so Much! (I’m glad so many have enjoyed the song as much as I have!)

    Reply

  17. Cassie
    Oct 09, 2010 @ 23:05:48

    My mom used to sing this song to my brother, sister and I when we were little. Now, we’re both singing it to my baby boy!

    Reply

  18. RM1USN(AC)RET
    Apr 01, 2011 @ 06:06:27

    wow,
    your story is not much diff then mine, I believe it is one of the first songs I learned as well (other then Jesus loves me), about a week ago, it started going through my head again, it has been a long time since I have actually heard any one else sing it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

