Log Cabin Diamond Star

This is a quilt that I started in October, and finally finished this week.  I quilted it last week, bound it over the weekend, washed and labeled it yesterday, shipped it to it’s home today.  I hope Sue and Eric enjoy it.

It has Quilter’s Dream Puff batting, white thread, a variety of feather patterns and stencils.  I used freehand,  channel locks, marking and stitch in the ditch thr0ughout the quilt.  I also hand dyed the backing.  It isn’t exactly the color I was trying to get, but it’s close enough.

sue11

sue2

sue3

sue4

And the back:

sue5

sue6

This is also the quilt Freda has asked me to give a tutorial on.  I havent forgotten Freda, it’s on my lengthy To Do list.  It would help to know if you want to make a queen or king size though.

And a special thanks to Randi for posting easy directions on how to insert the pictures here on WordPress and still make them “clickable”…. which means you should be able to click on the photo to enlarge it again.  I knew they had made big changes, but hadnt figured out the solution to that dilemma yet.  Thanks Randi!

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Diana Wilson
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 23:07:25

    Very pretty and don’t you just love the way Dream Puff quilts up? It is one of my favorite battings!.

    Reply

  2. Vicki W
    Dec 17, 2008 @ 07:26:51

    Gayle, it’s beautiful!

    Reply

  3. Freda Henderson
    Dec 17, 2008 @ 08:34:44

    It is gorgeous Gayle and I knew you wouldn’t forget. I would be interested in a queen size. Thanks so much.

    Reply

  4. BeckyP
    Dec 17, 2008 @ 09:03:29

    How gorgeous! I remember seeing this in the works! WOW!!!!

    Reply

  5. Deb Levy
    Dec 17, 2008 @ 09:15:00

    I saw this on MQR…love it Gayle! Dream Puff is one of my favorites too…it and Dream wool are the two I use most.

    Reply

  6. CarolK
    Dec 17, 2008 @ 10:11:18

    It is a beautiful quilt and your quilting is spectacular on it! Wow!

    Reply

  7. Christine Olson
    Dec 17, 2008 @ 12:51:04

    Beautiful!!! Thank you for the morning’s eye candy!

    Happy holidays to you and yours!

    Reply

  8. TeresaL
    Dec 17, 2008 @ 13:04:17

    Gayle, once again your quilting is lovely.

    King size, too? :)

    Reply

  9. sammi
    Dec 17, 2008 @ 14:56:32

    Nothing left for me to say …. raves raves raves !!
    I love your new header ….. that’s gorgeous and I’m really afraid to ask you the line of fabric. (shaking here) what’s the fabric line on your new header, Gayle? I love it !

    Sam,
    I just found it in some sort of blue/green….our client had it in red/gold. It is made by Moda, called Royal Holidays Victorian Jingles, a 24×44 panel. you can see the one I found here: http://equilter.com/cgi-bin/webc.cgi/st_prod.html?p_prodid=100677&sid=93LKiA1@vHSW22P-33108019875.75

    Reply

  10. Jami
    Dec 17, 2008 @ 18:56:28

    Is this your pattern, Gayle? It is just beautiful! I thought the sneak peak you gave a while back was wonderful, but the finished quilt…(drooling here!)

    Jami,
    I saw a similar pattern for a wallhanging that my friend made. I didnt have a pattern for a king size and just made it up as I went along. Actually, it took some figuring.
    Gayle

    Reply

  11. ramona-quilter
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 15:29:26

    Gayle, that is a gorgeous quilt. I have never seen that setting for logs. LOL. I love the quilting; the feathers with the narrow lines is wonderful. I’m sure that they will love it.

    Reply

  12. Sherry
    Jan 30, 2009 @ 14:25:16

    Gayle, I have seen a quilt similar to yours several years ago. They are absolutly beautiful. Where can I find the pattern?

    Reply

  13. Nussy
    Jan 11, 2010 @ 12:17:35

    I would love to get the pattern.. how can I?
    It is simply beautiful……………….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

