Cooper’s picture

I have a 5 year old great-nephew named Cooper.  Besides being cute, he is very bright and sensitive.  I knew his Mom (my neice Cinda) read my blog, but had no idea that Cooper ever saw it.

Imagine my surprise when I got the BEST email I had gotten in …… oh probably a year.

They are letting me share it with you:

coopers

Dear Aunt Gayle,
I saw your bird pictures.  I like birds, too.  I made a red cardinal at school.  I want you to see it.  I colored a blue jay, too.  Blue Jay and Cardinal are winter birds.  I wrote my name on the picture.  The ‘r’ didn’t fit.  I put it by the other side of the bird.
I love you.
Love
Cooper

Is that great or what?  I answered his email and told him all the different birds I had seen in the past several days.  And he answered me again:

“We have some black birds.  and some cardinals.  we don’t have woods by our house.  we have apple and pear trees. the birds like them.  I look for an owl when I go outside.  yesterday there were goose on Mr. Krska’s house!  it was silly.  I like to see your cows and tractors.  I see farms when I go to Grandma’s house.  Aunt Nancy has horses!  I like farms.”
I’m pretty sure Cooper needs to come visit us!
Thanks Cooper for being my guest blogger today.  I know my friends will like your picture.
10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jan
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 10:50:17

    That is a fabulous picture Cooper!!!!

    Reply

  2. Cooper
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 13:15:45

    Dear Aunt Gayle,
    I want to go to your farm. I think it is fun. I like cows. funny tongues. You are far away. soooo far. a long time in the car. or an airplane! i like airplanes, too. you live in Pennsylvania. i know where that is on the map. by Ohio. I know all the states. Papa lives in Idaho. that’s on the other side of the map. But he’s in Hawaii now. that’s in the ocean! I am going to call him. it is papa’s birthday! i think Papa likes cows, too. Mama says farms make her sneeze. that’s funny.
    I love you!
    Cooper

    (he’s typing now:
    AND
    KELLAR

    Reply

  3. sammi
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 18:55:15

    Wow! Great picture. And thank you very much for telling us that cardinals and blue jays are winter birds. I learned something new today!

    Reply

  4. Jami
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 19:53:38

    Cooper- That’s a great picture of a cardinal! Those are my favorite birds because they are so colorful. They really stand out against the snow. I have 2 that live in my neighborhood all year around.

    Reply

  5. KK
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 22:36:37

    Hi, Cooper

    Thank you for sharing your great bird picture and telling us about the birds. I like to watch birds, too. Right now we have a lot of goldfinches at our feeders. They are starting to come to South Carolina from farther south. The males have their winter feathers on and aren’t very gold right now – but every day you can see them starting to change back to bright yellow.

    Reply

  6. AllenQuilts
    Feb 06, 2009 @ 08:42:57

    I love your picture, Cooper! I think it would be fun to go to Aunt Gayle’s farm, too!

    Reply

  7. ramona-quilter
    Feb 06, 2009 @ 15:05:37

    How sweet is that? It still amazes me that kids start writing at age 5. I don’t remember my kids reading until they were at least 6. I bet cooper will love that you posted his artwork. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  8. Wendy
    Feb 06, 2009 @ 15:09:58

    Hi Gayle – this is such a neat blog…I know little about blogs…but this is very cool…..

    Love you….Wendy

    Hey Sis, glad you stopped by. And did you see our sweet Irvie? you can do a search of his real name and find the quilt I made with him on it. It needs to find it’s way to YOUR house….. but I use it in my trunk shows so often too…. hmmm, I
    need to think about that.

    I love you,
    Gayle

    Reply

  9. cinda
    Feb 09, 2009 @ 09:38:06

    Cooper thinks it’s very funny to see his bird on the computer, because the actual art is still on the wall in the dining room. He’s been doing lots of bird watching – and listening. We have mourning doves in our neighbors’ trees…and boy are they loud!

    Reply

  10. Wendy
    Feb 09, 2009 @ 13:21:39

    Hey Sister – I did see Irv’s quilt – you keep it as long as needed – I’ll always want it – but I’m going to be around a long time. Irv would be 60 this Friday….the kids and I will sing happy birthday to him on that day.

    I love our wedding quilt – it’s gorgeous – and after many washings – it still looks like new.

    Love – me

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

