What is it?

Can anyone help us figure out what this bird is?  Ive spent hours and hours yesterday and today trying to figure it out from my bird book and the internet.

A young hawk?  A young kestrel?  Other guesses?  Educated answers?

It was right outside our back door in the cherry tree yesterday.  We watched it for about 20 minutes.  Not skittish like most hawks who have been very skittish this time of year.  I think it is their mating season.  I know it is nesting and mating season for owls.

younghawk1

younghawk2

younghawk3

And here is my sharpshinned hawk that likes to hunt in the thicket for mice and chipmunks.

sharpshinnedhawk2

sharpshinnedhawk1

Isn’t it beautiful?  I love to watch it fly too.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. spatialcontext
    Feb 25, 2009 @ 17:57:28

    I think it is a dove but do not know what kind.

    Reply

  2. Judy
    Feb 25, 2009 @ 18:17:09

    Looks like a mourning dove to me. It definitely has the head of a dove….looks like it was pretty cold too the way the feathers are puffed out.

    Reply

  3. myolivebranch
    Feb 25, 2009 @ 19:59:10

    the head and fluffed out chest look like it has a pink tinge to it. does it? and i LOVE that you used the word “thicket”!

    Reply

  4. Carmi
    Feb 25, 2009 @ 22:06:23

    I think it also is a dove. We have them here and love to watch them. They even take baths in the birdbath. Aren’t birds fun to watch and identify?

    Reply

  5. Michelle Wyman
    Feb 26, 2009 @ 11:34:59

    Mourning Dove who is pretty cold. I have a mated pair that live in my backyard and visit my birdbath. They will not eat from a feeder, just nibble the seeds that drop to the ground. They will build a nest and use it year after year. Both parents feed the young. They are docile and sweet birds.

    Reply

  6. Gretchen
    Feb 26, 2009 @ 15:04:36

    Yup, mourning dove. Sweet birds that make a lovely cooing sound and squeak when they fly off. Because they are ground feeders they are very vulnerable to being attacked. I bet you hawk would love a dove for breakfast.

    Reply

  7. SallyP
    Feb 26, 2009 @ 21:24:37

    Wow If that is a dove ??? he has been into the steroids …………………….Makes me think of my bad hair days too …………………………………….
    Makes me long for my bird book which is at home ………………

    Reply

  8. Ramona Quilter
    Feb 26, 2009 @ 23:31:23

    I love to watch teh hawks. Yes, they are predators but when they catch a thermal and start to glide thru the air, I wish I could hitch a ride.

    Hey, Gayle, that’s gotta be a dove. That teeny-weeny head on that fluffed up body. I vote for mourning dove.

    Reply

  9. AllenQuilts
    Feb 27, 2009 @ 19:23:52

    It’s some kind of dove. We have HUGE ones in the backyard eating our birdseed. Almost look like some kind of pigeon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

