Scrap Garden

I have 2 buckets full of 2.5″ strips.  In an effort to use up some of those strips, I started cutting out a new quilt last week. This is the quilt all laid out on the design wall.

The entire wall is now covered, and it never made a dent in the buckets of strips.  I started sewing the pieces together today.  It is brainless sewing, since I used a template for the half hex.

I finished listening to Prayers for Sale while sewing.  Not my favorite book, but not awful either.  Next up to listen to is The Glass Castle.  I may start it tomorrow.  Or not.  Sometimes, I need a day or two between books.   For some reason, I like to let the finished book “settle” before I start the new one.  Same is true for movies.  We watched Precious last night, and that will take a week or so before it “settles”.

Yesterday I had a half day to myself.  I went ALONE…. yes, ALONE….. to the local quilt shop to do a little retail therapy.  (My friend Kay S. says I was doing my civic duty by boosting the economy!)  I spent 2 glorious hours finding the fabrics I need for a new project that is spinning in my head.  I got a new book last week, and I am revising one of the patterns in it to make it the way I need to.

This is what I bought:

It is only the 2nd time I have ever bought oriental themed fabric.  I normally don’t like it.  But isn’t this one yummy?  And the first 4 fabrics in the top left corner are Fairy Frosts.  Those are the accents in the quilt.

I have to get that Scrap Garden off my wall so I can this new one up!  The new one will be time consuming.  Much more difficult piecing and layout.  Lots of planning.  I hope the effort is worth it.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kayp
    Mar 14, 2010 @ 20:50:04

    love the scrappy garden! and i loved prayers for sale. sometimes for me, how much i like a book is influenced by the things going on around me.

    Reply

    • Gayle
      Mar 14, 2010 @ 20:56:42

      Kay, I agree about things going on around me. I just wish the book had more depth. I like books that make me think. It really didn’t.

      Reply

  2. Garden Landscaping
    Mar 14, 2010 @ 23:46:14

    A large, varied and colourful palette is put on display. Garden Landscaping

    Reply

  3. sammi
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 02:00:30

    drool, drool, drool …….. wipe, wipe, wipe …… oh golly gee!! I love those new fabrics ….. oh golly !!

    Since I started the genealogy kick, I haven’t read an entire book ! I am “working” on Andre Agassi’s “Open” … which Hubs read in two days and of course is now 6 or 8 books ahead of me.

    But I am doing some cute quilt tops … one called “Duck, Duck, Goose” which is my first stab at machine applique; and now two sweet baby quilts for my niece who is having fraternal twins from in vitro … one of each.

    I love your GMFG from scraps … my scrappy tries always look .. well, crappy !!

    Back to the genealogy for one quick blurb … my MIL is 96 and has always been really bummed that she is related to Robert E Lee (she has always lived in the NW – never even traveled east). I have been working hard to prove to her that she is NOT directly related, but is a cousin. After I wrote her that I had been up until 2AM fighting with Julius Caesar to prove I was NOT related to him OR Cleopatra, she now believes I really can do this stuff! LOL

    Now why the heck am I posting this on your blog? DUH ……..

    I love your Oriental … but you know how I am with those. This one is particularly pretty. You go girl!!

    Reply

  4. Terri
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 08:07:09

    Love the GMFG, Gayle…don’t you know that the more of your stash you use, the more it regenerates?!

    Reply

  5. Linda Card
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 10:48:10

    Oh, I can’t wait to see that Asian fabric translated into a beautiful quilt. I’ll be following that one.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

