Another studio day alone

Today was another whole day to myself in the studio while Steve cut wood.  I got both trapunto projects through the first step on the machine.  That means I sewed around the areas that will have trapunto batting (20 oz. batting) underneath that area.  The next step is to cut away all the excess batting under the areas that will be flat, not fluffy.  And for those of you who don’t quilt, the blue marking will all wash out.  You will never know it was there.

This is the first one:

 

And this is the second one:

 

And I finished the larger stars for my border on my feathered star.  I love these stars inside the stars.  I love the center medallion of the quilt.  But I am not sure I like them together!  Until I have the rest of the border blocks done, I won’t know for sure.  If I hate it, I plan on having a wallhanging and a second star in stars quilt.  That’s what is so great about quilting…if plan A doesn’t work,  make up a plan B.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vicki W
    Dec 29, 2010 @ 21:26:35

    You were a busy girl today!

    Reply

  2. Judy
    Dec 29, 2010 @ 21:51:08

    I love that 2nd trapunto with the butterflies and roses! Can’t wait to see it done!

    Reply

  3. quiltfever
    Dec 30, 2010 @ 08:42:58

    Your trapunto looks great–very creative idea. Speaking as a person who is on her third border for a quilt, I think you are so wise to have a plan B for the beautiful feathered star. It maybe needs something less overwhelming. But love the colors in the stars in stars.

    Reply

  4. quiltfever
    Dec 30, 2010 @ 16:43:38

    Hi Gayle, thanks for visiting my blog. Your blog address did not come over with the comment so I replied to the email address with the Winner’s Bouquet info. Had to do another search to find your blog but have now added you to my blogroll. In case you did not get info, pattern is available at http://www.atkinsondesigns.com/patterns/

    Reply

Leave a comment