A very sad day

Today was eventful.  I prefer uneventful.

3 of my good friends and I went on a trip to a quilt shop.  It is about 100 miles from home.  I thought it was gonna be closer, but nope, I clocked it and its far.

We had a great visit along the way and planned our different route home that would include a lunch break.

Got to the shop (the Ivy Vine in Russell, PA) and it was nice.  I found a ton of stuff I stacked on the counter for half yard cuts.  My friends found lots of good things too.

As we were shopping, one of my friends (MJ) got a phone call.  Her oldest son called to tell her that her youngest son (22) had been killed in a car accident just an hour or so after she had left home.  It had taken awhile for the hospital to figure out who it was, who to contact, etc.  We rushed to get out of there.  I just said to the owner….. here, put all this stuff together.  Here is my credit card.  Where is the bathroom?  I came out of the bathroom, signed the card, grabbed the bag with some of the stuff that was already cut (she wasnt done and we werent waiting) and out the door we went.

I would tell you it was the longest 2 hours of my life, but it wasnt.  It WAS difficult however.  Luckily, MJ’s sister (P) was with us and they sat in the back seat on the way home.  Honest, I put my child locks on the back doors because I wasnt sure if MJ would jump out or not.

It rained the whole way home, 2 detours and no lunch.  We took MJ directly home.  We were greeted in the driveway by at least 30 of her family members, many of whom I know.  C (my navigator friend that I was glad to have as my copilot today) and I slipped in to the house to the bathroom, then left as soon as we could get out of there.

Then I came home, checked in with Steve,  then drove C home another 30 miles back the way we had just come.  Came back home, got Steve to drive MJ’s van, and led him to MJ’s house so we could drop off her van.  FINALLY I got home about 5:30.  I had left at 7:50am.

I am exhausted.  I have no emotional energy left.  I bet I sound “flat”.  I feel that way.  Tapped out.  Nothing left in the well.  And I had hoped to post a cheerful fun note about this great shop I went to.  But then life happens.  And death.

If you emailed me…… and I got several today that need answers….. just know that I cant do it today.  I am just not capable.

Hopefully tomorrow will be uneventful.  I may even look to see what I bought, but not until tomorrow.

I sure hope you all had a better day than I did.

Be well…… and buckle up.

Gayle

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Diana Wilson
    Jul 19, 2007 @ 19:20:08

    What an awful day you’ve had. I am so sorry for MJ. There was a BAD accident on the way home tonight. I was praying for the girl in the car. Life comes at us so fast sometimes and I have started to really count my blessings. I’m sorry about your friend.

    Reply

  2. Judy W
    Jul 19, 2007 @ 19:27:26

    {{{{{{{{{{hugs}}}}}}}}}}}}

    Reply

  3. Jan
    Jul 19, 2007 @ 19:29:15

    Sending you a very big cyber hug.

    Reply

  4. KK
    Jul 19, 2007 @ 19:40:36

    Oh, Gayle – how terribly awful for your friend – to lose her son and to find out that way- HUGS to all of you.

    Reply

  5. Sharon
    Jul 19, 2007 @ 20:41:55

    I am so sorry to hear about your friend’s son! Prayers go out to her and her family.
    I was having lunch (thankfully I told my husband where I would be) with a friend that had moved to Colorado. My husband called and said my son in law had been killed in a head on accident with a tour bus in Las Vegas and I needed to get home. My daughter was 27 and had been married for 10 years. They didn’t know who to contact because he still had an Alabama drivers license. He did have one of the store’s business cards tho. My daughter was contacted 2 hours after the accident.

    Reply

  6. Suzanne
    Jul 19, 2007 @ 22:06:42

    Oh Gayle, I’m so sorry to hear about your friend and her son. Puts life in perspective.

    Reply

  7. Lynn
    Jul 19, 2007 @ 22:34:51

    Gayle, I’m so sorry. I can’t imagine the shock and pain. As Suzanne said, it sure puts life into perspective. Take a hot bath, cuddle up, and get some rest. We are here for you as you help your friend deal with her loss. Hugs to you.

    Reply

  8. TeresaL
    Jul 19, 2007 @ 23:03:17

    Dear Gayle, I had no idea what you had gone through today. Wish I had read your blog earlier so I could have told you ‘in person’ how very sorry I am for all that you, and those that you care deeply about, have gone through. My heart hurts for that young man’s family…and for you, too.

    My best to you!

    Reply

  9. myolivebranch
    Jul 20, 2007 @ 00:48:08

    oh gayle, it’s no wonder you are exhausted. what a sad day. when our friends hurt, it hurts us too. hugs.

    Reply

  10. rondabeyer
    Jul 20, 2007 @ 11:10:18

    Gayle,
    No words can express how I feel for you, your friend and her family, we are suppose to go before our children. Hugs to you and your friend and I wish you all peaceful healing…… Hugs!

    Reply

  11. Sharon Dixon
    Jul 20, 2007 @ 11:42:05

    Oh Gayle, I am so sorry! What a horrible, horrible day for all of you. I can’t even imagine.

    Reply

  12. AllenQuilts
    Jul 20, 2007 @ 17:38:47

    I don’t think any mother can read anything like that, and not feel the hurt for the other mom. I simply cannot imagine…I am so sorry that happened.

    Reply

  13. JenP
    Jul 22, 2007 @ 23:39:58

    Gail, I am so sorry. What a terrible loss for your friend, and so painful for you her friends. My heart goes out to her family, and a big hug to you, dear Gail!

    Reply

  14. Judy L.
    Jul 25, 2007 @ 21:48:56

    Gail . . how horrible. I feel so bad for your friend who lost her son. I’m surely glad she was with you and not alone somewhere far from home. It was hard for you too . . you’re all in my prayers.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

