Square Dishes

How often do you buy new dishes? It is not a routine event for me. But when I decide I want new ones (about every 10 years or so) there is NO stopping me!

What is your “dish history”? Mine is fairly simple. When I was a kid we had Melmac dishes. White with turquoise flowers on the plates. And solid turquoise bowls. They were indestructible. Believe me, I tried.

When I got married, we chose a pattern for china that Gary’s friend shipped us from overseas. And for everday dishes we had Pfaltzgraff Village pattern dishes. You could see some here if you really cared. href=”http://www.hillhousewares.com/category0maker14pattern120.html”>

When I got divorced I didn’t have dishes. Luckily, the gal I shared an apartment with for a year did! I dont remember them, I mostly ate out of the ChipsAhoy bag.

Bobby and I had some cheap plastic dishes initially. Those were replaced with some Corelle dishes that had a narrow blue stripe around the rim. They lasted the 20 years we were married.

When I auctioned my house and most of the contents after Bobby died, the Corelle dishes were sold in a box lot. Soon after moving to Steve’s house, I bought some Betty Crocker dishes. I bought them at the local grocery store with coupons. Each week something different was a special buy. It was a game to me to complete the set as cheaply as possible. I love a bargain!

The thing about dishes is, you have to live with them everyday. I get tired of looking at the same thing, dont you? Maybe you dont if you have a dishwasher, but I wash dishes by hand and see my dishes ALOT.

I had seen some dishes a few weeks ago that I really liked. I didnt buy them. Then I saw them again last week when Steve and I did a WalMart trip for a hot date. I didnt buy them. They are SQUARE and PINK. You can see them here. I am afraid I will get tired of pink. Think I am just in a pink phase.

http://www.corelle.com/index.asp?pageId=97

So I have been talking about these dishes. Steve is kinda sick of hearing about it. I have tried to visualize them. Tried to think about how they will fit in the cupboard. Will they fit on my chest right when I eat in my recliner? Will they fit in the dish drainer? Will I like em? Will I get tired of pink?

Why all this to-do about dishes? I spend more money on fabric and art supplies in a month then I do on dishes in a year. Or ten years! So what is the big deal?

Today I told Steve we needed to go to the outlet mall to buy dishes. I needed him to help carry them. Surprisingly, he “happily” tagged along. I use that term loosely.

In the store, I see the pink dishes. I love them. I want them. And they are on sale. Then I see some other dishes. Also square. I love them even more. But they dont have any full sets. And they are not on sale. Back to the other kind…..

Whatcha think Steve? Do you mind eating off pink dishes??
No
Which ones do you like best?? I really like these yellow ones.
They’re ok.
Really? I like em. But oh heck, they dont have enough.
So get the pink ones. You like em.
Nah…. I think I will be tired of them next week.
So?
So….. you dont buy dishes every week ya know.
So just get the damn things. Get what you want.
I think these bamboo ones.
Ok
Or the pink?
Look…… Im not gonna stand around all day. Just get some.
Which ones?
I dont care. Just do it.

sigh…….. see what I mean? Why such a big deal about dishes? Cuz I wanted this decision to be RIGHT. It makes no difference to another sole on earth, just to ME.

I bought these:

Bamboo Square Dishes

sigh…….. think I shoulda gotten pink?

ps…. I need help in learning how to make those links so you can click on them.

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michelle Wyman
    Aug 05, 2007 @ 00:09:04

    I can really relate Gayle… I recently bought new dishes, and the dinner plates are round, and the salad/dessert plates are square! And they are a patchwork design! And the large bowls are deep and patchwork but the small bowls are just burgundy, cos they didn’t have enuf of the patchwork ones. LOL It’s been about 20 years since I bought a new set… at least this one matches my kitchen and my favorite obsession!

    Reply

  2. Michelle Wyman
    Aug 05, 2007 @ 00:10:10

    PS. I like your square ferny green dishes… but I think you should buy at least one pink dish to see how it feels…

    Reply

  3. Vicki W
    Aug 05, 2007 @ 08:28:37

    I think they are cool! I love dishes. We picked some dishes when we got married and I hated having a cupboard full of the same dishes! When my brother divorced I packed all of them up and sent them to him (his next girlfriend broke all of them – he has poor taste in women). Anyway, now I buy cool dishes when I see them. I might buy 2, 4 or 8. NOTHING matches but I have enough different dishes for all of my moods. (I also have 4 sets of china from the early marriage days juset in case we have to entertain “real” people. Haven’t used them in a long time! LOL! So buy dishes – buy 2 plates, 2 bowls of whatever you like!

    Reply

  4. Judy W
    Aug 05, 2007 @ 09:12:03

    LOL I have been wanting new dishes for about a year now. I am so tired of looking at these dishes that I inherited from my mom when she changed her dishes (2 sets ago for her). But everytime I go looking, I can’t bring myself to spend the money!!! I know EXACTLY what you were going through!!!! LOL

    Reply

  5. Sharon Dixon
    Aug 05, 2007 @ 11:51:18

    Gayle, I have a thing for dishes, too. I think it’s because, like fabric, they are always coming out with pretty new choices. If I had the money, I would buy dishes more often, but I buy them about every ten years. This past Christmas, I asked for a new set to go with my newly painted dining room. So I’m sure it will be a long time before I get more. But it just so happens that my new ones will work with the solid ones that I bought last time. What was I thinking buying solid colored dishes? Oh well, they work well now.

    Reply

  6. Megan
    Aug 05, 2007 @ 11:53:18

    I LOVE new dishes!
    I get a set every 5 or so years.
    I love the bamboo, but maybe you need some pink ones just to make you happy!

    I agree, I buy more fabric in one trip than my current dishes cost. (grape theme with solid purple stuff to go with).
    My thought is that in 5 years when I see something trendy and fab, I will donate my current dishes to someone who needs them. The battered womens shelter is always on the lookout for kitchen set-ups. I can do some good for someone else when I get my new stuff.

    Great to see you………I have missed you!

    Meg

    Reply

  7. Elizabeth
    Aug 05, 2007 @ 15:08:18

    hgiyhgytguhgyghyhythg6ughythygh6yghyghy5h565u76u6guguthu (I like your green leaves, I like your green leaves, I like your green leaves)

    i like pink

    love elizabeth

    Reply

  8. sewswanky
    Aug 05, 2007 @ 15:12:55

    I love them Gayle and I love dishes… I have 2 sets of china and am wanting one more(VGB) Then I have a set of Fiestaware that we use every day…I just love all the bright colors. Then Dan has found a set he thinks we should get. Can one really have too many dishes?
    Kim S

    Reply

  9. Diana Wilson
    Aug 05, 2007 @ 16:10:14

    I like the ones you picked but I like the pink ones better….and besides you have been liking the PINK stuff for a while now….maybe not such a phase!
    Enjoy your dishes! I would love to get some new ones myself!

    Reply

  10. myolivebranch
    Aug 05, 2007 @ 16:39:29

    love them both, but PINK does it for me everytime. and i especially love elizabeth’s comments.

    Reply

  11. Freda Henderson
    Aug 05, 2007 @ 19:17:04

    Gayle, I have seen the pink ones at our local Walmart. I like the ones you bought better. I have a Corelle set named “Memphis”. They have red, blue, yellow and green rectangles around the edge. They are my normal dishes. Lynn & I went to Bass Pro last month and I bought some Mossy Oak Camouflage dishes. Yes camouflage. Lynn says he has a hard time finding them since he can’t see them.

    Reply

  12. Corky
    Aug 05, 2007 @ 21:15:49

    I have dishes that shape in plain white. I just got them. For about 5 years previously I’ve been using an assortment of different plates. No one eats off the same kind of plate. Every time I went to a store I’d look on the sale table for cool looking individual plates. My grandson loved deciding who would get which plate. He was partial to an Andy Warhol Campbell’s soup can plate.

    Reply

  13. threadtales
    Aug 06, 2007 @ 07:48:50

    How timely! I have been on the look out for new dishes the last few months. It will be my 3rd set (not counting my china) So with being married 23 years that’s about a set every 10 years or so………What I would really like is a good old fashioned iron stone set……..

    Yours are very cool.

    TerriW

    Reply

  14. TK
    Aug 06, 2007 @ 09:54:02

    I don’t really like either. But I’m a guy. And I since I usually do the dishes, I’d prefer to eat out of the pan.

    Reply

  15. Becky
    Aug 06, 2007 @ 13:44:47

    I love the new dishes! I think you should get some of the pink ones to go along with the ones you just bought!! You have liked pink for quite a while now ya know? If you remember from my house, I have a collection of dishes. I think I am down to 6 sets and each one has at least 12 complete settings! I like to have a different style of dishes for all the different hollidays, seasons, or meal type! I say go get teh other set too!!! You can never have too many plates and they do not have expiration dates!!! Just think…when Izzy gets older and moves to her own place you could give her the pink ones!!! You’ll be tired of them by that time!! LOL……

    Reply

  16. wendysquilting
    Aug 06, 2007 @ 20:29:18

    I have different sets of corelle one all white and one with blue flowers…I chose them so that my little girls could help with kitchen chores. (nice and light weight and durable) When the girls and were first on our own, Debbie Mumm stuff was pretty in and I loved her garden dishes……saw them at target one time I took the girls to the states and wanted them, but I just couldn’t justify the money. A few months later we were there again and my oldest insisted that I buy 2 sets to start off our new life. I still love those dishes.
    Gayle I think you should go get the pink ones too…….just so when you are in that kinda mood you’ll be ready!! We do after all use dishes alot.

    Reply

  17. Cinda
    Aug 07, 2007 @ 12:39:24

    I just laughed outload …as I’m reading your message… while eating out of the chips ahoy bag….

    not so good for WW. 🙂

    Reply

  18. Barb
    Aug 08, 2007 @ 16:02:40

    Food will look better on the ones you bought. You paint with fabric, I paint with food and some foods would look terrible on pink. You made the right decision. Before I came to your wonderful presentation today, I packed for Meals on Wheels in Grove City. I actually threatened to go to County Market and buy some roasted peppers, before the cook found me a carror so I could garnish the very plain green(I meal all green) bean salad. Yep I made carrot curls.
    Remember, we eat with our eyes first.

    Reply

  19. Riley
    Apr 11, 2008 @ 09:58:10

    I love the look of square dishes. If it’s just the two of you, get just four place settings of lots of different dishes. I love dishes. If I had more room I’d had dozens of different sets. Get just a couple of place settings of the pink. Then you can use them when you’re in your pink mood.

    Reply

  20. Gina
    Jun 28, 2009 @ 17:18:24

    I like em:) I like the pink too….grunt. I have a terrible time with dishes too. If you read in my blog I finally got the to die for set a few years ago. Now they are packed away and I got the corele at costco similar to yours, only pure white with indentions. for here at the Inn. INDESTRUCTABLE:) Who knows when my set will ever come out huh?
    Oh btw… I think they are so reasonable too, that u SHOULD go get the pink. Summer/winter. There, solved.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

