I got “CRAPS”

Today, I got the very best kind of mail a Grandma can get.  I got “CRAPS”.  Elizabeth loves to do crafts with her Mom.  Yvonne is quite crafty and involves Elizabeth in all kinds of things.  I was told several weeks ago that I would get some “craps” in the mail that Elizabeth had made.  Ooooo Boy!  I have been waiting and waiting…. and none too patiently!

So today…….

bizzy craps

……. I got ladybug magnet craps from Bizzy.  What fun!  Now I can put the “letters” on my fridge that she sent with it.

On a quilting note…..

Here is a fun little wallhanging we quilted for Gail and George this past week.

George’s moose

And on a personal note…..

WOW did we have fun this weekend.  We went to Steve’s 35th Reunion from Lakeview HS, Class of 1972.  Steve was on the reunion committee and that meant we had to go early, stay late, both nites.  (had to do a little set up and clean-up)  His class had had a 20th reunion, but Steve did not attend it.  He graduated with approx. 135 other students.

I dont know how you feel about class reunions, but I am not fond of them.  I went to the 20th reunion of Thornridge HS, Class of 1971.  I graduated with about 1200 other kids.  There were maybe 200 at the reunion I attended.  There may have been 5 people I cared about there.  I wont go back to another one for sure.  It was hoity toity…. clique-y and all about who had the most of everything.  The music was so loud you couldnt hear anyone talk.  And it was expensive.

Because of my own experience, I was so NOT looking forward to this.  I wanted to go, but thought I would be bored silly.  I  wouldnt know anyone and was frankly surprised that Steve was looking forward to it.

We had the BEST time EVER.  I absolutely could not get over how excited these people were to see each other.  They hugged, some cried, they laughed and played and talked and laughed some more.  Steve saw people he hadnt seen in 35 years.  He was genuinely thrilled to see and talk to so many.  I took alot of photos (I promise Todd, THAT picture wont be posted!) and made a cd to share with several that asked for them.

The reunion was extremely well done.  Friday nite was a “meet and greet” in the park in Sandy Lake.  We had not been to the park before, so were pleasantly surprised by all it had to offer.  It was an informal, fun and festive gathering.

Sat. nite was drinks, dinner and lots of storytelling!  We were there from 5-midnite and could have stayed longer.  Some of Steve’s classmates came in from North Carolina, Virginia, Seattle, Houston, Cleveland and California…. via Amsterdam.  We are already looking forward to helping with the next reunion in5 years.

Here we are….. happy!

reunion gayle and steve

Hope you all have a great week….

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vicki W
    Aug 13, 2007 @ 21:40:16

    Cute walhanging – but the craps top everything!

    Reply

  2. AllenQuilts
    Aug 13, 2007 @ 22:09:48

    Love the craps! Great job, Bizzy!

    Reply

  3. myolivebranch
    Aug 13, 2007 @ 23:05:23

    i can’t wait to get craps someday! your reunion sounds just perfect. glad you had fun.

    Reply

  4. carlafibers
    Aug 13, 2007 @ 23:13:08

    Love the craps and your picture, too!

    Reply

  5. wendysquilting
    Aug 13, 2007 @ 23:21:04

    yep great craps…and pic of you two too!

    Reply

  6. ane21
    Aug 13, 2007 @ 23:28:44

    what a beautiful…pict…

    Reply

  7. Elizabeth
    Aug 14, 2007 @ 08:20:57

    grandma gayle

    ggrgfbgtrt65y655bthbnvngvtr654 (I like the shirt you sent me (tie-die) I wore it yesterday)

    yvihyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy (Hello)

    123yghgfbh (123 cause I had a birthday)

    dtgteyygtyebd (I like your picture –the one of you and Steve)

    1234567890qwertyuiopasdfghjklzxcvbnm (**As she typed all of these letters and numbers she practiced counting–each of the letter keys was renamed a number)

    yufvrgvt (cool)

    love
    elizabeth

    Reply

  8. Melissa Bryson
    Aug 14, 2007 @ 12:39:17

    I love the little “craps” Elizabeth made you. I am glad you guys had fun at Steve’s school reunion. Love the picture of you two together.

    Reply

  9. hotquilts1
    Aug 15, 2007 @ 00:05:18

    What a fantastic gift of craps! LOL! Love it! And what a terrific pic of you and Steve, too!

    Christine

    Reply

  10. TeresaL
    Aug 25, 2007 @ 23:27:01

    The best part of growing older is grandchildren…..love Elizabeth’s creations and I enjoy her responses in your blog.

    Great photo of you & Steve!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

