Design Dilemma and Solution

Every once in awhile I get totally stumped by a quilt.   A client will bring something that is different (all kinds of reasons to be different and cause a dilemma) and I have to work out a solution on how to quilt it.

The dilemma here is this:  The quilt body is pieced in a Storm at Sea design.  It is pieced in a way that it has a strong diagonal design to it, which is unusual for this particular pattern.  Sandy wanted to emphasize that diagonal with the quilting.

The second dilemma is that the border is pieced with the Snail’s Trail pattern.  She wanted something that would coordinate with the body.  Uh huh.  Yup.  Hmmm, put on my thinking cap.  Oh…… and she wanted it non-directional.  Yup Yup.

When I get a quilt like this…. one that stumps me… I take photos of it, then print it on regular printer paper in draft mode. Then I draw all over it until I am sure of the design components.  It sometimes changes a little once I start stitching the actual quilt, but it certainly helps me cut down on ripping out.

She picked up the quilt yesterday and loved it.

sandy1

sandy closeup

And, as promised…….. here is my Double Wedding Ring (DWR) that I finished piecing last week.  I did most of it on Tuesdays and at 2 retreats.  I think I may name it Tuesday Wedding.

tuesday wedding

EWWWWW…… its more wrinkled than most client quilts!  No worry, it is shoved back on the hanger to join the multitude of UFO’s waiting to be quilted.  I may iron it just before I quilt it.  Or not!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Janet
    Aug 20, 2007 @ 16:04:45

    Gayle, I love what you did on this quilt! Very cool diagonal quilting…you have such an eye for these things. I’m glad I stopped by this afternoon. Nothing like a little noon inspiration lol.

    Great DWR by the way. I love two tone quilts, they are so clean looking.

    Reply

  2. AllenQuilts
    Aug 20, 2007 @ 16:49:26

    That is a very pretty SAS. You did a great job on it. I am still mulling over quilting ideas for mine. I think I want something softer than quilting straight lines in it…I want movement, but I also want to emphasize some of the secondary designs. I’m pretty confused as to how I want to quilt it…pretty challenging for me. Can’t wait for you to get that DRW quilted.

    Reply

  3. Terri
    Aug 20, 2007 @ 19:20:01

    The storm at sea looks great! I am also impressed with your DWR. I don’t think I could ever piece one and retain what is left of my sanity.

    TerriW

    Reply

  4. Diana Wilson
    Aug 20, 2007 @ 20:40:02

    Loving that DWR! Very pretty Gay!

    Reply

  5. Gina
    Aug 21, 2007 @ 09:22:27

    Good job on that Storm…. I myself am tired of them over here. Last one I did I decided not to hurt my brain, put waterworld in the body and freehand swimming whales in the border, worked like a charm… What ya gonna do in the DWR? I love it too:)
    G

    Reply

  6. kaye Wood
    Aug 21, 2007 @ 10:47:30

    Gayle
    I love your idea about taking pictures of the quilt to help in the quilting design. No wonder you are so good at what you do.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

