A New Start

Nope, no baby. Believe me, I will let you know when it happens!

Since I finished that DWR last week, I have felt like it was ok to start something new. Silly, I know, but that’s me. I ordered a new book by Louisa Smith, A New Twist on Strips and Curves.

Hopefully this book is going to solve how to go about my next quilt. I have had a quilt in my head since June. But I had NO idea how to accomplish what I wanted to try. Lo and behold, I found this book last week when surfing the net. It came a few days ago and I was able to start cutting the fabrics I have been collecting for several months.

This is how far I have gotten:

strips curves1

strips curves2

Any guesses as to what it will be?

And on a purely personal note….. I have to say this: You know how sometimes there is someone in your profession or industry….. Or in a field that you dabble in and read about….. someone that you admire from way afar…. someone that you learn from via their book or video or TV show or website…… someone who of course does NOT know you, nor would they ever visit your website or blog….. WELL!! WELL WELL WELL! Let me tell you how not true THAT is! On the net, anybody can saunter by and say hi. Whether they are famous or not!

Imagine my TOTAL surprise today that Kay Wood (yep, THAT Kay Wood that you have seen on TV and learned from just like the rest of us have) left a comment on my blog. So I go to HER blog….. and lo and behold my blog is on her blogroll. Yep. And so are some of YOURS.

Gotta say….. it made my day. Made my week. Made my month. Only one that would knock my socks off more would be if Laura Cater-Woods and my all time art quilting heroes Inge Mardal and Steen Hougs. left a comment on my blog. I was lucky enough to share a drink and fascinating conversation at a reception in Houston with Inge and Steen several years ago. For sure, that has been the highlight of my art quilting life.

I wonder who YOUR quilting heroes are?

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jan
    Aug 21, 2007 @ 20:54:07

    I LOVE that second set with all the earth tones. And now I must shop… enabler… 😉

    Reply

  2. myolivebranch
    Aug 21, 2007 @ 21:50:14

    way cool gayle! hmm quilting hero….i can just say that i had a hero once but after meeting her, she is no hero. that bites. kayp

    Reply

  3. TeresaL
    Aug 21, 2007 @ 22:30:38

    How neat to see your blog listed on Kay Wood’s site! 🙂 I did recognize a few other blog names, too. Now I can say I rub elbows–er, rub keyboards?, with even more celebrities. 😉

    Quilting heros? There are many quilters that I would love to meet in person—most of them are machine quilters with loving, generous and friendly hearts that I’ve met only online. I’d love to meet all of them in person — some day.

    I hope we get to see baby photos soon!

    I read your blog often and enjoy it!

    Reply

  4. Lynn Douglass
    Aug 21, 2007 @ 23:10:35

    How cool is that!!! You go, girl! By the way, I loooove your fabrics! Yummy!

    Reply

  5. Terri
    Aug 22, 2007 @ 07:56:01

    Can’t wait to see how this turns out! You are always up to something!
    TerriW

    Reply

  6. Yvonne
    Aug 22, 2007 @ 12:35:48

    Is this one of the people you quilted when you did Operah?

    Reply

  7. gaylemckay
    Aug 22, 2007 @ 12:38:44

    Yvonne,
    No, the one you are thinking of that I made a quilt of is Karey Bresenhan, owner of http://www.quilts.com and the Houston, Chicago and France quilt shows. She is an awesome woman, and a dynamo in our industry too.
    Gayle/Mom

    Reply

  8. Linda S
    Aug 22, 2007 @ 18:09:19

    Looks like a field with hills behind and the sky. I love the selection of fabrics.

    Linda

    Reply

  9. TK42ONE
    Aug 22, 2007 @ 19:22:57

    I’m going to guess, based on the colors, the quilt is about Moab.

    And no, no baby yet.

    Reply

  10. carlafibers
    Aug 23, 2007 @ 06:26:12

    Nice colors…. I’ll say a rural farm scene?

    I hopped over to Kay’s blog, but alas… no Feathered Fibers listed… oh well….

    LOL! Hugs, Carla

    Reply

  11. Nancy Hughson
    Aug 23, 2007 @ 15:06:34

    One of my quilting heros would have to be Sue Nickels. I was lucky enough to take a few classes with her. I hope Kaye decides to join our ring!

    Reply

  12. Inge & Steen
    Aug 28, 2007 @ 09:00:07

    Thank you for referring to us with such enthusiasm. It is a pleasure to know that we sometimes do add positive moments to your life as an artist.
    By the way, we seem to run into each other at the Quilt Festival in Houston – so having just booked the flights for this event the probability that we would do that again is relatively high. We are looking forward to it.

    Inge & Steen

    Reply

Leave a Reply

