Shopping for Art Supplies, Attending the Fair

NOTE about all pictures in this post: you can click on the photo to make it bigger. You can also right click and choose to open in a new window, if you rather.

Yesterday, I went shopping for some art supplies for an upcoming class at QuiltUniversity. I knew I wouldn’t fare well at JoAnn’s (complete strike-out), so went to Pat Catan’s, a sort of local arts and craft store.

This is what I came home with:

art supplies1

Luckily, I ordered some of what I needed from  http://www.sewthankful.com and it came in the mail today. Don’t you love online ordering??

art supplies2

Steve and I also went to the Great Stoneboro Fair last nite. It is an annual event for us to attend, at least once in the 5 days the Fair goes on. We plan on returning tomorrow for most of the day and evening.

It is mainly an agricultural fair, and the closest thing to a county fair that we have. (Our county doesn’t have a county fair.) We love to see the animals…… and I love to take pictures of them. Steve always laughs at me. Gee…. wonder why?

Several of you have been bugging me about my annual fair animal photos…… wanting to see what I found this year, as compared to last year.

As you can see below, not alot different than last year.

CUTE KIDS

kid goats

KID MILKING GOAT

hpim1734.jpg

COCK

hpim1737.jpg

OUR NATIONAL BIRD (a face only its mama could love)

hpim1740.jpg

MALE SHEEP (always a crowd favorite)

hpim1741.jpg

Now I know we live in redneck country…. but I did not know we had our own version of the KKK here……

hpim1744.jpg

And what do they call the head honcho of the KKK? A grand dragon or something??

hpim1743.jpg

TWO BAGS FULL

hpim1755.jpg

COW WASH

hpim1754.jpg

GETTING READY FOR THE DEMOLITION DERBY

hpim1758.jpg

TRUTH IN ADVERTISING

hpim1761.jpg

AND LAST……a crummy picture, but kinda gives you a feel for what it really is like to be at a demolition derby, standing 30 feet from the pit. Smoky, hazy, dirty, rubber and dirt flying…

hpim1797.jpg

Guess now you know WAY more about me than you ever should……

OH….. I guess I should add that one of Steve’s clients won first on a quilt. There were no remarkable quilts that we saw. Nothing that grabbed our attention. There was some great photography tho….. I may have to enter that next year.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JudyW
    Sep 02, 2007 @ 11:23:29

    Looks like you had a fun night at the fair. Love the pictures, reminds me of home ;>) The “truth in advertising” really made me chuckle! LOL
    Can’t wait to hear how the class goes for you and what you do with the Pearl Ex pigments. I bought some in June and tried to mix it with paint, but it wasn’t a successful experiment, so now I’m not sure what to do with them.

    Reply

  2. janthompson
    Sep 03, 2007 @ 15:54:10

    Gayle – what class are you taking? Can’t wait to see the results!

    Reply

  3. TeresaL
    Sep 03, 2007 @ 20:55:41

    Paint stix……I keep looking at them, but haven’t stepped out of my comfort zone to order any yet. I’d love to get some and play…..maybe some day I really will do it.

    Eager to see what your project will be from your class at Quilt University. I deleted the class list without even looking at it this time…. 😉

    Reply

  4. sammi
    Sep 03, 2007 @ 21:01:01

    And now back to the fair: I think besides photography, you should also enter the quilt competition, the goat milking competition and the cow washing! Now this after you finish your QU class and send more quilts on tour of course ….

    Reply

  5. Linda S
    Sep 04, 2007 @ 15:07:06

    Uh-oh! Gayle’s been at the fair again! 😉 Love the pictures. I have all those toys to play with Gayle, but I just haven’t gotten them out yet. I think I’m going to set up a play date with myself for next Sunday and get them out and play! I have lots of stencils to use with the paint stix and Lumiere paints too. I just need to get my butt moving.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

