Started a new UFO

Most of my quilty friends have UFO’s.  (unfinished  objects… quilts, purses, clothes, whatever)  I have alot too.  Too many to think about.  Nope, not gonna count.  I dont know how to count past 50.

Thursday I got my oil changed.  It takes half an hour to get to WalMart where they have the “express” oil change.  Cept it wasnt express Thursday.  It was a 2 hour wait.  Yup.  “No problem” I told the guy….. heck, it would take most that time to go home, come back again later….  That meant I had two hours to kill.  Yup that meant I had to look at fabric.  And some pretty, fall colored, pre-quilted (WHAT?????? Im a quilter, what do you mean pre-quilted???) fabric jumped in my cart.  Along with a pattern for a purse and backpack, some zippers, D rings, and other assorted necessary notions.

WHAT WAS I THINKING????

oh yeah…. I’m going to Houston Nov 1-4 and thought a pretty backpack would be nice.  And a purse to match?  Even nicer.  sigh……. wonder where I can buy one?  oh heck, I can just make one.  yeah.  right.  like THAT’s gonna happen.  well, maybe if i had fabric i liked…… see where this going??

Yesterday I cut out said purse and backpack.  Needed to pin the pattern on, didnt go get the pincushion in the bedroom, where said pincushion has been for 3 wks near my art quilt design wall.  It would probably disturb my artistic harmony if I moved that pincushion.  So instead, got out new box of pins.  I hate pin boxes.  They are awkward.  Hard to grab a pin.  Easy to knock off the table.  Just prefer pincushions.  I persevered and suffered through.

Today I started sewing said purse.   Pinned one band on, sewed it, knocked box of pins on the floor.   Picked em all up.  Kinda torqued.  (didnt go get pincushion)

Pinned another band on, sewed it half way, knocked pins on the floor.  Picked em up….. and pissed off now.  (didnt go get pincushion…. its a matter of principle by now)

Pin zipper on to first piece.  No problem, get it sewn.  Get half way through sewing second half of zipper, zipper catches the side of pin box and it sails across the table, onto the floor.  I calmly (yeah right, you know what i really said…..)  finish sewing zipper.   I go to living room, tell Steve to come help me!  He sees my dilemma, my total frustration and says “just a sec, I have just the thing!”.  He returns with some magnetic wand thingamajig and proudly demonstrates how great it is to pick up pins.  I let him.

Turn sewing machine off, put lid on pins, turn off air conditioner and lights and leave studio.  My artistic harmony for the day is completely blown.

So…. I started a new UFO.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jan
    Sep 09, 2007 @ 18:50:11

    ROTFL… did I ever mention the time I spilled the pins on favorite dog? He was not amused and proceeded to distribute them like porcupine needles all through the house. I now have a magnetic pin dish by the sewing machine 😉 I’ll send the princess over to help you count those ufo’s 🙂

    Reply

  2. Freda Henderson
    Sep 09, 2007 @ 20:12:16

    Gayle, I’m laughing but not at you. Just remembering the things I said when it has(more than once) happened to me.

    Reply

  3. Vicki W
    Sep 09, 2007 @ 21:14:14

    LOL! Great story!

    Reply

  4. kayp
    Sep 10, 2007 @ 07:33:00

    too funny gayle. i too started a new ufo yesterday. My seams started getting wonky on the ufo i was piecing so i needed a little break…so i perused the stash and pulled fabric and before i knew what i was doing, i had it partially cut out and was sewing a block just to see if i liked it…..2 ufo’s spread out waiting attention in the clubhouse now! geez. can’t wait to see your finished bag and purse.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

