September 11

If I ask you where you were on 9/11, you will know. It is an event that is seared in our collective minds and souls. I look to the anniversary of this day with a sense of sadness, and yet also with great pride and joy.

You see, 9/11 is also the day Steve’s business was born. It is the day the Gammill Classic Plus (our longarm quilting machine) was delivered and set up. We were also trained that day. Well…. we tried. Steve tried. Our dealer tried. I mostly stood in front of the tv in shock and profound sadness. I can’t honestly remember a lot that I was supposed to have learned that day. I should have been so excited…. but I was not. Our world as we knew it, had stopped. Changed. In ways we could not grasp. It was too big to comprehend. Too awful. Too much. Too many lives. GONE. Too many citizens. Gone. For what? How could I learn how to run a longarm on THIS day? I couldn’t.

So as I reflect on the anniversary of that day, I am pleased to report that Steve and I have fared better than our government…. better than the world. His business is thriving. We have learned a ton of things about business, quilting, people, quilt shows, and most importantly….. about ourselves…. in the past 6 years. We have grown personally, professionally and together. Neither of us has regretted buying the Gammill at all.

6 years ago, I did not know that I was an artist. I didnt know that my true talents would come through quilting and art. I did not know I would share with others how I feel and think about my world thru quilted art. I did not know I could.

On that note…. let me share with you my art quilt that was in a special exhibit called “The Culture of My Country” last year and traveled to France, Houston, and Chicago.

“The Price”

The Price

The Price Close

The Price Close2

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Becky
    Sep 10, 2007 @ 17:21:33

    My thoughts are with our nation and all those that have been defending it for the past 6 years!! I love this art quilt. The first time I saw it tears came to my eyes. Thanks for sharing it again!

    Reply

  2. Eileen Keane
    Sep 10, 2007 @ 19:50:32

    It’s beautiful!

    Reply

  3. Judy L.
    Sep 10, 2007 @ 21:12:00

    Gayle, that quilt is one of the things I always remember when I reflect on September 11 and our recent history.

    Reply

  4. Sharon Dixon
    Sep 10, 2007 @ 23:35:16

    Gayle, that quilt says it all. I have so much respect for the men and women who serve in the military. And for their families. Do you watch “Army Wives”? It’s a new Lifetime series and I happened to catch it a couple of times and it really helped me to realize the sacrifices that the families of our military members must make as well. Your art is a true gift. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  5. Lynn Douglass
    Sep 16, 2007 @ 00:40:42

    Gayle, I’d just like to say how much I’ve enjoyed watching you grow as an artist. I’m so proud of you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

