Little Man and New Class

Finally! Here are some pictures of that cute little man in VA. William is certainly a cutie! Here I am, holding him on the front porch.

Grandma Gayle and William

And here is Steve, holding him too.

Steve and William

Neil, Elizabeth, William and Yvonne. All are Steelers Fans.

Neil, Yvonne, Elizabeth and William

And this picture of Elizabeth is one of my favorites. She was at the table with her Mom, making one of her “craps”…. a “scary bat” made of foam and beads. The look on her face is the one she (and her Dad and I too) makes when saying or thinking “but I dont wanna” or “I dont understand”… at the earliest point of frustration. I KNOW this look. I DO this look. I get this. Which is why I love it so much.

Eliz face

As for the rest of the trip, it was great.  We got to spend time with the beautiful family you see here, as well as do some tourist things.  We saw several Civil War sites in VA, Lee’s home, Washington’s home, and the Berry Farm that had goats to feed.  We took a trip to St Mary’s City, MD to see places I lived, where I went to college and to do a tour of the historic sites there.  On the way home we spent most the day and a night in Gettysburg.  We stopped at a round barn too, which was impressive.   I took several hundred pictures and will share more in the next several days…. and maybe weeks!

On a quilting note, I started a new online class this week.

Today I started my homework.  It is the first time I ever painted fabric.  This is just the start.  Doesnt look like much huh?  And probably wont be either.  This class  teaches how to use all kinds of STUFF that I have wondered about.

Painted with Setacolor transparent, Jacquard, and Lumiere paints.  I had only ever played with Setacolors, so this was a fun experiment.  This will hopefully be the “base” for a class project.

Here it is still wet.

hpim0205.JPG

And now it is dry.  I wondered if it would dry lighter, like wall paint, and it did.

hpim0206.JPG

Hope everyone had a great week while I was gone.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Judy L.
    Sep 27, 2007 @ 17:48:56

    Gayle: The family pix are great!! I love Elizabeth’s confused look.

    Where online are you taking that class? Looks like lots of fun!

    Reply

  2. AllenQuilts
    Sep 27, 2007 @ 23:10:04

    Love the family pics! That one of Elizabeth is priceless.

    Reply

  3. Sharon Dixon
    Sep 27, 2007 @ 23:22:38

    Gayle, I love the pictures of you and Steve holding William and looking at him. There is nothing like the love of a grandparent and you can see it in the pictures. Elizabeth is adorable, too.

    Reply

  4. TracyeQ
    Sep 27, 2007 @ 23:50:07

    Your grandkids are scrumptious!!!
    Can’t wait to see pics of your trip, glad you had a great time!
    Angels on your body.

    Reply

  5. Melissa Bryson
    Sep 28, 2007 @ 15:08:45

    I am glad you guys had a fun trip and got to spend some time with family. Elizabeth and William are such cuties.

    Reply

  6. wendysquilting
    Sep 28, 2007 @ 17:43:35

    Gayle I love the pics and I’m so happy for you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

