St. Mary’s City, Maryland

We went to Southern Maryland on our vacation….. back home for me. I have always loved St. Mary’s City. It is where I attended St. Mary’s College of Maryland for 2 years, graduating in 1980. My late husband, Bobby, was born and raised there. His family is there. His roots are there. And so are his ashes.

Steve, Neil and I went to spend the day in St. Mary’s County. Neil and I had not been back since Bobby’s funeral just over 8 years ago. Steve had never been there.

As you round the bend, driving south on 5, it hits you. The water. The river. The view. It is just as moving to me now as the first time I saw it. I would drive that road daily for years and never get tired of it. It feels like home every time I hit the curve. The river beckons. The river and I are old friends.

I have waded in this river. Swam and frolicked when my son was only 2. I canoed on this river, picking up artifacts, sharks’ teeth and shells from the river’s edge. I have partied here, laughed myself silly….. and cried lonesome tears.

This is Church Point…… where I have done all these things and more. And where Neil and I had our private, most meaninguful committal of a handful of Bobby’s ashes.

hpim0002.JPG

St. Mary’s City was the first capital of Maryland. It was settled in 1634 by those that came in boats named the Ark and the Dove. There is a wonderful living history program here. The archeology program here (I was a member of the Archeology field school the summer of 78 or 79) has expanded. They have made some awesome discoveries. I was especially impressed to see one of the 3 lead coffins I had read about in National Geographic.

The picture below is the State House. I used to do lots of homework sitting outside this door, on a bench, facing the river.

hpim0010.JPG

This is a replica of the Dove. It is seaworthy, and sails several times a year. Steve and Neil went aboard, I did not. (I have been on it many times before) It is docked exactly where the dock was for the house Bobby was born in. It is no exaggeration to say he grew up on the water. He was a waterman (fishing, crabbing and oystering) during his teen years.

hpim0016.JPG

Bobby’s first home was on the land you see behind the Dove in this shot. And his ashes are here in this water.

hpim0019.JPG

This is the river that calls my name…..

hpim0015.JPG

The river that calls me home.

hpim0032.JPG

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sammi
    Sep 30, 2007 @ 17:14:22

    I lived this with you and cried. It gives me goosebumps.

    sammi

    Reply

  2. Jan
    Sep 30, 2007 @ 18:36:35

    I love the stories and the pictures. We lived in Delaware and had friends that we would visit in Maryland, but I don’t think we ever went to St. Mary’s City. Now I wish I had. But I do miss the water. I am glad you got to go back and take Steve to all that history.

    Reply

  3. Diana Wilson
    Sep 30, 2007 @ 19:07:41

    You paint the pictures so well. I was right along side you as you described these scenes. Tears welled at church point. You are wonderful with words my dear. (not a bad quilter either
    Diana

    Reply

  4. Chet Chylinski
    Oct 01, 2007 @ 16:41:22

    Your pictures and words are wonderful!
    We are so lucky to have such memories of places
    and times from our lives!
    Have never been to Maryland, but your description
    of St. Mary’s City makes me want to go there too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

