October 3, BEST day

October 3 is always the best day of the year. It is my son’s birthday. I dont know if it is good for him or not, but it always is for me.

This is the day that I remember and re-live the experience (in my mind) of his birth. I am reminded of how awesome and overwhelming it is to become a new parent. When you know how many things can go wrong with pregnancy and childbirth, it is truly a miracle to me that so many babies are born healthy and normal. His was such a birth. Nothing was abnormal, yet everything was miraculous. As I held that new baby 31 years ago, I realized for the first time what unconditional love meant. I have always loved him…. always will…… no matter what.

It is this day that I think of how lucky I am to have such a good, kind, generous and truly gifted human being for a son. He has been like this his entire life. He cares about others, is soft spoken and gentle…. yet can hold his own as well. He is a wonderful Daddy, a good husband, and the best son anyone could ask for.

He has been my rock so many times…. not because I asked him to be, not because I deserved it….. just because that is who he is.

Happy Birthday Neil…… I love you now, always and forever.

Love, Mom

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. TK42ONE
    Oct 03, 2007 @ 16:00:55

    And I’m glad you had me. Otherwise I wouldn’t be here, right?!

    And my birthday isn’t as much fun as it used to be (old age sucks – and yes, 31 is old to me), but it’s always great to wake up every day and still be alive.

    Reply

  2. Freda Henderson
    Oct 03, 2007 @ 16:36:48

    Gayle, today his my youngest sons’s birthday. He is 34 today. We can’t see him as he works out of town. We will miss that. He’s going to have a great weekend. He will be camped in the infield at Talladega. How cool is that?

    Reply

  3. Linda
    Oct 03, 2007 @ 19:07:18

    Gayle,anyone who knows you and loves you would understand perfectly that you would produce a wonderful son.

    Happy Birthday,Neil!

    Reply

  4. Lynn Douglass
    Oct 04, 2007 @ 03:41:32

    He sounds like a wonderful man, and he actually sounds a lot like my son, Zack, who was born 19 years ago today. Your post made me run for the tissues! Happy birthday, Neil!

    Reply

  5. sammi
    Oct 04, 2007 @ 14:30:26

    What a nice tribute – from both mother AND son ! Those of us who are Moms understand the “tribute” in Neil’s posting.

    Happy birthday, Neil.

    Reply

  6. AllenQuilts
    Oct 05, 2007 @ 09:33:47

    Happy birthday, Neil! Beautiful post, Gayle.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

