A Thousand Splendid Suns

I finished A Thousand Splendid Suns last nite.  I highly recommend that you read it.  It is a story of 2 women who come together by circumstance…. 2 women who learn to get along in order to live.  2 women who try to give the children some sense of order and balance to their lives when life in Afghanistan is neither orderly or balanced.

I would love to hear what any men (in particular, but not exclusively) think of this book.  I thought it was powerful.  While parts of it were disturbing and difficult, it was uplifting and hopeful at the same time.  It reminded me how rich we are in America.  Rich in goods and resources, rich in resiliency and  rich in history.  It is the women of our country, the women of all countries around the world that pass those riches to their children.  This book is a salute to so many women, in a way… to their resiliency, emotional and spiritual strength, human compassion and the courage to endure.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cynthia200
    May 11, 2010 @ 07:54:22

    Hello,
    I have the feeling that this peace of mail will reach you in a better healthy condition.While searching through this site today i saw about you and became interested to know you.I have a special reason of contacting you,so i will like you to respond to my email address(cynthiakabbashi@live.com) so that i can tell you everything about me and send my picture to you and as well tell you the reason i contacted you.I will be waiting to hear from you soon.God bless you.
    Your friend,
    Cynthia.

    cynthiakabbashi@live.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

