Piecing Project

I have been working on a piecing project for the last week from the book Bella Bella Quilts. It is much more tedious and complicated than what I normally do. (For the non-quilters that read my blog, piecing a quilt means that you cut up pieces of perfectly good fabric and then sew it back together to make a different design.) This particular quilt top is paper pieced. (That means that it is sewn to a design on paper to get it to be absolutely accurate….. well…… thats the theory anyway…. accuracy)

I am not a paper piecer. It is backwards. I am dyslexic, so you would think it’s right up my alley. Not. I finally trained myself to think like most quilters think, and NOT think backwards. So I now have to think backwards to do this project. Okay….. that just means I cant work on any other piecing until this is done, and then I can switch again.

The biggest deal with this quilt is you have to be organized. There are 40 wedges to make this outer circle. There are 20 each of a left and a right. There are 18 pieces in each wedge. All the pieces are different sizes and shapes. I precut and labeled each group, which kept me organized in sewing. All 20 left wedges are done. I have 12 or 14 more right wedges to add the last 4 pieces to. I have 6 wedges completely done and sewn together.

After the outer circle is done, I have 2 inner circles to do. I am not following the pattern in the book for that. Instead, I am doing ……. well, I really haven’t decided yet! I have something in mind, but until this outer part is done, I am not sure.

So, here is a sneak peek at the project. It is what I spent the bulk of my time on at the retreat.

hpim0417.jpg
I also worked on some fabric postcards to exchange with a group on MQResource.  I will show them after they are sent.  I am taking photos of the process, the way I make them.  I think of them as mini art quilts.

Hope everyone has a great weekend.  I will be quilting away.  We are swamped with work, which is a good thing!   But it means I have lots to do before I go to Houston for the International Quilt Festival.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Suzanne
    Oct 26, 2007 @ 17:20:25

    Oh my heavens, Gayle. You did pick something complicated, didn’t you?? Wow! It looks like it is going to be gorgeous, and I can’t wait to see your progress!

    Reply

  2. freda1951
    Oct 26, 2007 @ 17:48:00

    Looks beautiful but complicated Gayle.

    Reply

  3. Michelle Wyman
    Oct 26, 2007 @ 22:42:14

    Looks great so far!! Can’t wait to see more!

    Reply

  4. kayp
    Oct 26, 2007 @ 23:22:17

    Holy WEDGIE batman!

    Reply

  5. KK
    Oct 27, 2007 @ 06:28:23

    WOW!! I can’t wait to see all of it!

    Reply

  6. carlafibers
    Oct 28, 2007 @ 13:01:30

    Now THAT is a lot of work!!!

    Can’t wait to see your postcards!

    Reply

  7. Diana Wilson
    Oct 29, 2007 @ 10:15:12

    I have that book and have looked for a project to do…not ready to take on something like yours though. It looks great so far and love the colors you are using. This will be stunning. Keep going…you are doing great!

    Reply

  8. rondabeyer
    Oct 29, 2007 @ 23:53:56

    I have that book, and yes, fabric to make something from it someday, you are very brave….. There was a teacher at Quilt Camp this last weekend that showed her technique of paperpiecing using butcher paper and not ripping anything away, very cool and the best paper piecing method I have ever seen, everyone was raving about it……… Can’t wait to see what you do with this, the original in the book is gorgeous and yours is right there with it… Have fun in Houston

    Reply

  9. Corky
    Nov 01, 2007 @ 15:52:55

    Please keep posting photos of this project. It’s going to be spectacular!

    Reply

  10. janthompson
    Nov 02, 2007 @ 21:06:25

    Oh my goodness, Gayle – what a project. You obviously have a lot more patience than I do!! Looks great!

    Reply

  11. Norah
    Dec 01, 2007 @ 14:10:38

    Gayle,

    I wrote that book and am very pleased that someone who makes art quilts as you do would be attracted to my somewhat “traditional” projects. I aspire to art-y quilts but love teaching, and this book is the one that got published. There are lots of new student quilts on my website–take a look. Good luck and I’m curious to see what you put in the corners and middle.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

