We’re Expecting!

I am home from Houston, exhausted and happily expecting.

HUH????

Yep, we did it! We bought a second longarm, and we are expecting delivery in December. After 3 days of driving every longarm brand on the market (and some mid-arms too) I finally decided another Gammill Classic Plus fit my body and my overall needs better than any of the other machines I tried. I also found a dealer that I felt good about. The new machine will be like our old one, but has a newer configuration of the bars, and has a hydraulic lift. It is on a 12 foot table, whereas the old one is on a 14 foot. We are hoping it will fit in the kitchen well enough to live with for several months …… waiting until we can get a contractor to build a new studio. Who needs a dining room table in the kitchen when you can have a Gammill??

The hope is that I can spend time on my new machine and have more machine time for art quilts.  That will be a huge difference in my life.   I am more excited to get this machine than when we got the first one.  Maybe because this one is mine??

Judy, Sammi and I had a wonderful time together. We spent lots of time at the show…. admiring the gorgeous quilts and shopping. I came home inspired and more focused. I also came home with lots of “stuff”. And ordered some more stuff that will be shipped. Some of the vendors had free shipping and I took advantage of that. As it was, my suitcases weighed 35 and 40 lbs each. I was glad I didn’t go over the limit!

When I am done unpacking I will take some photos of some of the “stuff” for those that couldnt go. Not that you would have bought what I bought anyway….. but it’s always fun to have a little show and tell with new things right?

On the homefront, we are in the middle of “Christmas rush” quilting. Holy cats, I dont know where all these quilts came from! We are happy to have though, and a second machine will improve our turnaround time too. Not this Christmas, but for next year it will.

Today I feel like I am up to my ass in alligators.

13372.jpg

Steve decided he needed to do some renovating today. As in, putting in a new door in our bedroom. The outside door. Ugh. That was a major event. The old door is so old that……. well…… it was held together with…….. yeah……. duct tape. Last winter the wind blew a slat out of it and I got the duct tape out. What else is a girl to do? It held together, even after Steve took the door out! The new door is very nice compared to the old. It just lacks the same character!

So…. since Steve was messing with his “ra piss culating” saw (he loves to play with words…. really a reciprocating saw) and his “handy dandy drill driver” and the new door….. I quilted. And did laundry. And fielded phone calls. And paid bills. And cooked supper. And I forget what else. It doesn’t really matter, does it?

I am glad to be home. Steve missed me. Did you?

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vicki W
    Nov 05, 2007 @ 21:09:06

    Congratulations on the new baby!

    Reply

  2. TeresaL
    Nov 05, 2007 @ 22:08:12

    Welcome home and how neat about the new machine!!

    Reply

  3. freda1951
    Nov 05, 2007 @ 22:50:28

    Congratulations on the machine Gayle. Sounds like a lot of fun coming your way.

    Reply

  4. Sharon Dixon
    Nov 06, 2007 @ 04:45:32

    Congratulations, Gayle! Lynn told me that you had stopped by the A-1 booth and said hello. I wish I had been there when you came by, because I would have loved to meet you in person.

    Reply

  5. Terri
    Nov 06, 2007 @ 09:25:01

    Congratulations, Gayle! I had no idea you thinking about getting another machine! I just can’t imagine having two machines. Of course, 4 years ago I could not imagine having a machine at all! LOL
    TerriW

    Reply

  6. rondabeyer
    Nov 06, 2007 @ 10:50:48

    Congratulations, a great choice, I am excited for you…. Thanks for the alligator laugh, I needed it today….. You were missed, can’t wait to see the new creations from your new machine and the inspiration you got in Houston (like you need any, you are already so damned talented)….. Welcome Home!

    Reply

  7. AllenQuilts
    Nov 06, 2007 @ 12:37:16

    Of course we missed you, too! Congratulations on the new “baby”! :-) I wish you many, many years of happy quilting together. You will love the hydraulic lift. Now that I have it, I can’t imagine going back to not having it. It’s wonderful to be able to adjust the table height to fit your own individual comfort. Can’t wait to see the wonderful things you are going to create with it!

    Reply

  8. Judy L.
    Nov 06, 2007 @ 20:34:55

    Congratulations on the second machine. I can’t believe I didn’t know you were in Houston. I was there too and would have been thrilled to get to meet you!

    Reply

  9. Nancy Hughson
    Nov 07, 2007 @ 11:36:32

    Congrats on your new baby!!! Hummmm…..me thinks you should have a baby shower. lol

    Reply

  10. carlafibers
    Nov 07, 2007 @ 23:05:10

    Congrats on your new baby! Woo-hoo!

    Lynn had very nice things to say about meeting you at Houston. hopefully, we will get to meet one day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

