Beautiful Day

We had a surprisingly beautiful day today.  The forcast was for more rain, but we never saw it.

I stayed home from my quilting group today because of too many other pressing things.   So off I went to the Post Office to mail a quilt to one of Steve’s numerous New York City clients.   The light was so different.  I have rarely seen it like that in my whole life.  It was very cloudy, but a few thin rays of light were trying to break through.  It made the sky almost glow, almost iridescent.   I wish I had had a place to pull over safely to take photos.  Or to just sit still and watch.  But I was driving and had no safe place to stop along a 2 lane, well traveled country road.

I came home after running errands to find that our Gammill dealer had called to change the delivery date on my new machine.  YEA!!  Now it will be here Dec. 6.   What a great Hanukkah  present huh??  And Christmas present.  And New Year’s, Valentine, St. Patrick’s, Birthday, Easter, April Fool’s, …. well, you get the picture.

It was so pretty that I decided to go to the lake.  Steve stayed home, told me to go and enjoy it while I could.  The lake is only a few miles from home.  I have no idea why we don’t go there more often, other than we get wrapped up in the business and other things and just don’t take time to do it.  I went to 3 of the 4 launches, and to the marina.  I saw 2 boats, and a total of 5 fishermen.  Nobody had caught anything.  Nobody really cared either!  Sometimes “no bites” can be a good thing.  Today was like that.

Visiting the lake made me miss my boat.  I used to fish at this lake every day it didn’t pour rain between April and November for about 4 years.  I have caught, filleted and cooked thousands of pan fish from this lake.  I need to do it again.

So here it is…… Autumn’s last gasp at Lake Wilhelm.

hpim0498.jpg

hpim0507.jpg

hpim0509.jpg

hpim0512.jpg

hpim0516.jpg

hpim0520.jpg

After arriving home from the lake, the mail brought a new postcard from the MQResource exchange I am participating in.

This one is from Kay P.

hpim0540.jpg

and the back:

hpim0541.jpg

In case you can’t read the back, it says “boys are stupid,  throw rocks at them.”

Now I don’t know about you, but I thought this card was hysterical.  I laughed so hard I had tears streaming down my face.  I think it was the juxtaposition of the rather severe and formal front and unexpected  colorful, playful, sparkly color and comment on the back, compared to the front.  It just tickled me…… so much that I made Steve STOP quilting (in the middle of the row, which he hates to do) and LOOK at the card.  He did NOT think it was funny.  Not even a little funny.  Not even a smile.  In fact, he was a little pissy about it.

Oh my God.  THAT made me laugh even harder.  “yeah, well if it said that about women, you woulda said it was a chauvinistic statement or something”.  Yes, I probably would…… and back into fits of laughter.

Thanks Kay, you made my day!

And here is the sunset that topped it off.

hpim0528.jpg

Hope your day was even half as good as mine!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. freda1951
    Nov 13, 2007 @ 20:24:49

    Very pretty Gayle. I’m glad you enjoyed your day.

    Reply

  2. Vicki W
    Nov 13, 2007 @ 23:06:17

    You did have a beautiful day!

    Reply

  3. sammi
    Nov 14, 2007 @ 00:14:20

    Well now!! Gorgeous day, gorgeous photos and gorgeous postcard from Kay! LMAO!

    sammi

    Reply

  4. kayp
    Nov 14, 2007 @ 00:57:18

    hey thanks for sharing your trip to the lake with us! it was beautiful. glad you liked the postcard.

    Reply

  5. Gina
    Nov 14, 2007 @ 16:17:35

    THAT card is marketable!!!! I am still rolling! LOL Good one Kay!

    Reply

  6. wendysquilting
    Nov 19, 2007 @ 23:46:24

    I think thats what I need a trip to the lake!! Thanks for sharing Gayle, no wonder you understand my love of fishing 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

