Winter Farm Tour

Want to take a tour with me?

Two days ago, Steve gated the cows into the winter pasture.  First day of hunting season is Monday, and they are much safer in a more confined area.  Plus, it gives the main pasture time to recover.

So here the cows are yesterday (Thanksgiving) totally pissed off because they cant go in the big pasture.  Yes, they think the grass is greener where they cant go.  (the pasture is actually behind them…. they had been looking into the pasture, then turned around in seeming resignation to head to the pond to wade.)

hpim0571.jpg

And this is what it looks like out there today.

hpim0617.jpg

I took a little walk today out in the snow.  It was about 30, no wind and a very heavy, wet snow coming down pretty hard.

I saw a turkey up in the tree.  Guess he was glad he made it through yesterday, huh?

hpim0573.jpg

These trees are in the front yard.  On the right is Steve’s favorite, a blue spruce.  He and his son planted it in 1995.  It grows about 2 feet a year.  Every year he puts Christmas lites on it, but I dont think he can this year.  Last year he had a ladder ….. on a piece of plywood….. on top of his bucket…… lifted as high as the tractor bucket goes…… and I couldn’t look.  Sure made a pretty tree, but man it made me nervous.    The trees on the left are hemlocks and I hate them….. except when we have pretty snow like this.  Doesnt the snow make them attractive?

hpim0587.jpg

And here is the new rake that isnt so new anymore….but I still have a fascination with it’s roundness and angles.

hpim0591.jpg

When I got out to the road, the cows had to be nebby.  (is that a PA word?  it means nosy)  They were NOT happy with me because I had no food for them.   They still had to rush on over and check to be sure.

hpim0610.jpg

Below, you see Snowball (on the left) is teaching his sister Harriet all about snow.  Snowball was born in the snow (thus the name).  Harriet is our newest calf, and this is her first major snow.  She loves to run, regardless of weather.  She is the most energetic calf we have ever had.

hpim0609.jpg

And oh my, is Bessie ever wide.  She is due to have a calf any day.

hpim0613.jpg

Here is the tractor……another thing that looks prettier in snow!

hpim0619.jpg

And here is some of the wood Steve will split and bring in for the fireplace tonite.

hpim0620.jpg

A few leaves……

hpim0597.jpg

Well……. now you know what a productive day I have had!  (really, I did do a whole lot of other things)  So let me show you what Steve did.

hpim0621.jpg

He came in after his chores tonite to tell me to grab my camera and boots….. “sky alert to the northeast!”  (I have him trained well don’t you think?)

hpim0641.jpg

Honestly…… we do have alot of ugly stuff around too.  But who takes photos of that???

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. freda1951
    Nov 23, 2007 @ 20:41:52

    Thanks for the pics Gayle. What a difference makes. I love snow but we don’t have all that much of it, if we did I might not like it.

    Reply

  2. kayp
    Nov 23, 2007 @ 23:58:38

    i always love taking walks with you! we have yet to get any snow. in fact, i still have some green grass. weird.

    Reply

  3. wendysquilting
    Nov 24, 2007 @ 10:31:02

    Thanks Gayle I love the pics you share! We have abit of snow but it looks like you’re winning. The trees look so pretty with snow on them, almost magical to me. And the cows, well I happen to have great memories with cows in them from my childhood 🙂 so they remind me of fun times. And well the tractor 🙂 I don’t think I’ll share the story of using the bucket and ladder to hanging lights…

    Reply

  4. TeresaL
    Nov 24, 2007 @ 10:45:53

    Gayle, I love the photos and seeing the pretty snow, glad you have it there and not me having it here 😉 , sure is pretty to look at though.

    I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving.

    Reply

  5. Terri
    Nov 24, 2007 @ 11:11:01

    Bessie looks just beautiful!
    TerriW

    Reply

  6. Jan Thompson
    Nov 24, 2007 @ 11:21:59

    Beautiful pictures, Gayle. Thanks for walking us around! We only had 4 years in Illinois back in the 80’s, but I still miss the snow.

    Reply

  7. spavlov
    Nov 24, 2007 @ 15:04:12

    Hi! I loved the walk ……… Pictures are sooo neat , I am glad you told me about it ……I must set up a page of my own some time…………..Today we are waiting for Rob to call that they are back from Pittsburgh…We are to meet them for dinner……………They had just enough snow to remend them why they are down here………I admit I do miss the snow but I am afraid to walk i it……………..Sally

    Reply

  8. Lynn Douglass
    Nov 24, 2007 @ 16:19:14

    I always enjoy looking through the pictures you post, Gayle! Since we NEVER get snow, loved them even more today. I especially like the way that rake looks all snow covered. Lots of yummy texture in that photo.

    As I scrolled through your blog, I noticed the pictures of the blooming flowers. Is that an Angel’s Trupet bush? I have one with very soft pink flowers, but I’ve never seen them in that color. They are gorgeous!

    P.S. I know what jicima is, and I like it too! 🙂

    Reply

  9. Linda S
    Nov 25, 2007 @ 01:42:04

    Thanks for the tour Gayle! I really miss snow, we don’t get much here in the valley in OR. I love that rake too — very artistic angles.

    Linda

    Reply

  10. Christine Olson
    Nov 25, 2007 @ 14:27:15

    I loved the pics, all of them but most especially the rake! There is a graphic appeal that calls to me, too. It is somewhat similar to the picture I chose for a farthing project I am doing. Maybe someday I will post the results on my blog.

    Enjoy the snow and happy holidays!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

