Down/Up

This morning didnt go so well.  I had a quilt loaded, a plan on how to quilt it (custom) and the energy to do it.  We are on a tight schedule here with all the quilts to do before Christmas.

Since last Wednesday evening the machine has been giving us problems.  We didnt call the dealer because we didnt want to bother anyone during the Thanksgiving holiday.  We just worked through it, trying to figure it out.  Should have called yesterday, but instead Steve quilted, I went and got new switches for the machine.  Today he installed new ones.  Didnt help.  Didnt make it worse either.

I called the dealer.  Richard told Steve what he needed to do to fix the machine.  And if that didnt work he would need parts that Richard is mailing to us today.  Or we could shut down until Richard is here next week to deliver the new machine.  Uh huh.  Right.  Oh so wrong.   Want to see Steve frustrated?  Have something go wrong that he cant fix.  That was this morning’s scenario.  So…..

We decided that I would go ahead and tackle this quilt, leave the old switches on and Steve would not take the machine apart at all until next week when Richard is here to set up my new machine and work on this one.  At least we are both more comfortable knowing what the problem is and that it isnt going to be difficult to stop and fix if we really need to before Richard gets here.

Judy and Sammi will appreciate what this machine is doing that is so frustrating to me…. I have to hit the on/off button TWICE in order to turn it on or off.  Exactly why I didnt like the APQS machines.  Ironic huh?  Yes, after a day of doing it I am used to it.  There is a difference between “used to it” and “liking” it.  Okay ladies, you can quit laughing at me now, cuz I know you are.  Especially YOU Sam!

In the midst of figuring out what to do about the machine, the phone rang repeatedly.  Several friends, (checking on who was driving, who was going to either of 2 funerals this week) and then a client.

This is how the client conversation went:

C:   Hi, I need a quilt done.  It’s been laying around for 2 or 3 months, so can I bring it today?
G:   Sure, we will be here.  It will be done sometime in January.

C:   WHAT???????? I need it for Christmas!

G:   Sorry, cant guarantee that.  Our machine is having a problem and we have 14 people ahead of you.

C:   Oh… well…… I was really hoping……

G:   Ummm, I have never said this out loud to a customer before, and I dont want to be rude to you, but honestly, have you ever heard the line that goes “poor planning on your part does not constitute an emergency on our part?”  Because that line is really appropriate today.

C:   Yes Gayle, it is.  You are absolutely right.  I didnt plan very well and I know it.  I will bring it and whenever Steve gets it done is fine.  I will just put a note in an empty box and wrap it.

Ya know….. she almost made me feel bad.  Key word:  almost.

The afternoon was waaaay better.  Steve went Santa shopping, I stayed home, turned up the volume on the stereo and got some serious quilting done.  So far, the machine is hanging in there ok.   And I may even have a picture or two of it tomorrow evening.

Wonder what Santa is hiding out in his truck?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Spavlov
    Nov 27, 2007 @ 23:21:17

    Hi ! Sorry the machine brought so many frustrations ………..We were just frustrated yesterday when the cable quit and the Steelers were set to play at 8 :30 P M ………………….Went to a Sports Bar and felt like a Pitt fan in Morgantown ……..The place was full of Dolphin fans ………I clapped under the table and went home …………………………….
    Cable guy came this A M …………Sally

    Reply

  2. Terri
    Nov 28, 2007 @ 09:28:13

    Oh GEEZE! Don’t they always give you fits at the worst possible time! Good job with the client! Very brave!!
    TerriW

    Reply

  3. myolivebranch
    Nov 28, 2007 @ 10:28:42

    i just wish the people calling me were calling about new quilts they want done. unfortunately, my calls are all about quilts that i’ve had for too long already. it is what it is huh.

    Reply

  4. AllenQuilts
    Nov 28, 2007 @ 12:22:45

    Good for you, Gayle, for standing up to her. Hope you get your machine straightened out soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

