Postcard additions

I have new postcards that came yesterday.  These are so darn fun!

This one is from my oh so good friend Judy in North Carolina.  I am still waiting to know just how she did that textured part.  I think she must have used the heat gun on plastic?  Love that feather too!

hpim0706.jpg

And then there is Shirley.  Shirley, the overachiever that makes the rest of us look like slackers.  She was afraid we wouldnt like the first card she sent (my wonderful Kokopelli) so she called do-overs.  And sent this one.

hpim0709.jpg

It says Unzip your imagination.  And has a zipper.  Can you imagine putting a zipper into a postcard project?  And doing it 12 times????  (12 of us in the exchange)  And doing it willingly??  See what I mean?  Overachiever.  And I love it.

Here is a peek inside.

hpim0710.jpg

Steve thought it might have money inside.  I told him that money would have been the wrong color.  They had to be black, white and one other color, and she chose red.  He says  “hey Shirley, do-over the do-over with GREEN!”   (dream on Steve)

It’s snowing like crazy… has been for about 48 hours now.  I sure hope Pat and Richard get here safely.  Actually, I care much more about their safety than the machine coming on a particular day.

Hope your day is a good one!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda S
    Dec 04, 2007 @ 14:30:01

    WOW! Great postcards. I’m in awe of the zipper too. Steve’s got it right — my favorite color is GREEN, and for the same reason Steve is thinking. I envy you the snow. We rarely get any here and it is so pretty, so peaceful.

    Linda

    Reply

  2. Vicki W
    Dec 04, 2007 @ 15:23:05

    Next time I will put Shirley in my group – 2 great cards for 1 swap! I think Judy said she did every card different. Another over-achiever! These are wonderful!

    Reply

  3. Judy
    Dec 04, 2007 @ 15:37:39

    Hey Gayle, glad you like it. That was an old tyvek mailing envelope. I painted it with setacolor and jacquard paints and melted it with a heat gun, trying to make a wave texture. Stay warm and stay safe!!!!!

    Reply

  4. freda1951
    Dec 04, 2007 @ 17:34:59

    I love your postcards Gayle.

    Reply

  5. Deb Levy
    Dec 04, 2007 @ 17:54:26

    Great postcards Gayle. When you say Pat and Richard….Walker?? If so, say hi to them for me. They are my dealers too!

    Hope the snow doesn’t mess things up for any of you.

    Reply

  6. gaylemckay
    Dec 04, 2007 @ 18:22:27

    Deb,
    Yes, Walker. Will you share them with me?? We have dealers closer, but they were so great in Houston that I was happy to give them my money!
    Gayle

    Reply

  7. shirley bruner
    Dec 07, 2007 @ 19:41:03

    well, now Steve, that sounds like a challenge to me. LOL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

