Bowl 1

Ever since seeing Randi’s bowl made with coiled, fabric wrapped clothesline, I knew I wanted to do this.  Then my friend Carolyn gave me a Fons and Porter magazine (March/April 2007) with directions in it.

Last nite I started wrapping the clothesline with some batiks in one of my favorite colors.   Here is my first bowl.  I am so happy with it!

hpim0781.jpg

hpim0782.jpg

Steve and I are both kind of intrigued with these.  This is VERY sturdy.  Surprisingly so.  I have all kinds of shapes I want to try now.

I am starting to wrap another clothesline this afternoon.  I hope to make some coasters for the living room.  I need more clothesline to make more projects.  Can’t get any today, as we are snowed in for sure.  Still snowing, roads are wicked, wind is anywhere from 12-20 miles per hour with gusts to 39 mph.  Think I will just stay put and throw another chunk of wood on the fire.

Hope everyone is staying safe while this messy weather persists.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. freda1951
    Dec 16, 2007 @ 16:10:53

    I need that pattern too cause I love them. I liked Randi’s when she showed it as it was in my colors. Your bowls are great Gayle.

    Reply

  2. AllenQuilts
    Dec 16, 2007 @ 16:50:28

    I love it, Gayle! Isn’t it too much fun? I need more time…time for baskets, time for baking, time for painting glass ornaments, time for sewing, quilting…..BTW, those glass ornaments on my blog today would be great fun for you & Bizzy 🙂

    Reply

  3. Jan
    Dec 16, 2007 @ 17:58:34

    That is pretty!!!! You all are really making me want to try that. I think it might be a good kid & mom craft too.

    Reply

  4. Vicki W
    Dec 16, 2007 @ 18:07:26

    I have got to try one of these some day – soon!

    Reply

  5. Deb Levy
    Dec 16, 2007 @ 20:25:31

    Cool bowl! Imay just have to add those to my (long) list of things to do. Yourweather sounds yucky….ours is better (course it would be since I’m in south florida)

    Having an ongoing issue with my machine that hasn’t been solved over the phone, so Richard and Pat are coming tomorrow. They are the best, you made a good choice.

    Reply

  6. rondabeyer
    Dec 16, 2007 @ 20:44:48

    I love these, I have actually started a purse some gals were making them at moms Quilt Camp and I fell in love with the look, very classy…. Think I could make them one handed???? Something for me to create after surgery… I love the colors if you used……

    Reply

  7. Terri
    Dec 17, 2007 @ 08:12:52

    I have been thinking about doing some of these. What a great way to use scraps! How wide do the strips have to be? Maybe I could start saving my leftover binding strips……..
    TerriW

    Reply

  8. sammi
    Dec 17, 2007 @ 11:02:26

    Hmpf! Y’all were doing fun stuff while I was sitting under my stump! What terrific bowls! I must find my way over to Randi’s blog – I think it’s the next click down. Love the colors! And love your new pic at the top of your blog. I’m intrigued with how easily you change that pic – and there isn’t one of them I haven’t liked!

    sammi

    Reply

  9. Spavlov
    Dec 17, 2007 @ 22:40:13

    That looks so great ……Once you wrap the clothesline in fabric how do you secure it to the row you just made ….Sew it ???? Wow ……..
    We were in Harborside yesterday for a gem show ..and the walls were all done in examples of fabric art ……………….so lovely …….Made us think of Gayle..Sally

    Reply

  10. Lynn Douglass
    Dec 22, 2007 @ 01:45:26

    Love the colors you’ve used, Gayle! I saw some of these bowls on my friend, Marie’s, blog too. You can see hers at http://www.zquilts.blogspot.com. I treated myself to the book , It’s a Wrap, and I’m going to play!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

