Christmas Eve Day

What a fun day it has been! I started in the kitchen at 9:30 this morning. At 1:00 I finally sat down after the baking was done and the kitchen was cleaned up.

First I baked Biscotti… but used maple flavoring instead of anise or almond. (it’s called use what you have) They are quite tasty and different than anything I have made or eaten. Steve says they passed the taste test!

hpim0905.jpg

Then I made No Roll Sugar Cookies made with Bisquick. I was intrigued with the idea of using Bisquick, and had exactly enough. I also liked the  fact that I could just roll them in balls, flatten with a glass and bake. Easy. And good too! I wont frost them because then they are way too sweet. These also passed the Steve taste test.

hpim0906.jpg

Next was coffeecake. I was going to wait till tomorrow to make it, but figured since I already had all the ingredients on the counter I would just “git er done”. I used Suzanne’s recipe from her blog.

hpim0904.jpg

WoW! It is SO yummy. And easy. I highly recommend it.  I had to sit down and try a piece while the pies were baking.

hpim0907.jpg

And last….. Steve’s pumpkin pies. It is now officially Christmas for him since there is pumpkin pie on the counter. 🙂

hpim0912.jpg

Now I think I will relax in my chair, have another cup of coffee and read my book The Secret Life of Bees.

Enjoy your day!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jan
    Dec 24, 2007 @ 14:49:48

    Now I am tired and hungry 😉 Enjoy!!! Looks fabulous!

    Reply

  2. freda1951
    Dec 24, 2007 @ 18:03:03

    It all looks good Gayle. I read that book and it was pretty good. Enjoy.

    Reply

  3. Deb Levy
    Dec 24, 2007 @ 20:29:42

    Looks yummy! And the book is good. Merry Christmas.

    Reply

  4. suzanne
    Dec 24, 2007 @ 23:41:14

    Everything looks yummy! I’m at my sister’s and just waiting for morning so that she can make coffee cake for us….

    Reply

  5. Emma
    Dec 26, 2007 @ 08:24:18

    What a great idea to use maple flavor! I don’t usually like biscotti because I don’t like anise or almond flavoring (although I like almonds – why is that?).
    I love all the holiday baking. I made Cooks Illustrated’s Molasses Cookies and they are to die for. Really chewy and spicy.
    Any more cooking happening in the future?

    Reply

  6. kayp
    Dec 27, 2007 @ 21:59:52

    it all looks perfect gayle! i hope you enjoyed your holiday.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

