We have had visitors…

We have had visitors.  Lots of visitors!

First, Santa came to visit us when we were sleeping.  When we got up on Christmas morning, he had filled our stockings for us.  And we opened lots of great presents.

I got a telescope to see and photograph the flora and fauna from a long distance, as well as see the stars.  And I got some much needed scissors, a scale that actually works and a particular shower head that I have wanted for years.   Steve got some books, clothes, a Galileo thermometer and Planet Earth DVD.

Elizabeth sent Steve a gift certificate for his favorite store, and sent me a webcam so we can talk to each other Live Messenger.  I can hardly wait!  She also sent these  beautiful ornaments that she made (with Mom’s help)  They enjoy doing “craps” together.

Here is mine:  (I apologize for these fuzzy photos.  It is the photographer, not the camera)

hpim0921.jpg

hpim0922.jpg

hpim0923.jpg

hpim0924.jpg

For several days after Christmas we were just lazy.  And I got to play a little bit with some ideas for the Try A Triptych challenge on MQResource.  This is the start of Kay’s, where I tried foiling.  (a new to me technique)  The true color of the fabric is in the second (fuzzy) picture.

hpim0925.jpg

hpim0927.jpg

Friday it was Christmas in my mailbox!  I got a package from Vicki because I had won a drawing on her blog.  I am the luckiest girl, I swear.  Look at these beautiful fabrics that she dyed, AND a hand picked selection of yarns and beads to go along with the fabrics she sent for landscapes.  I am beyond thrilled.  And SO impressed with the quality of her dyed fabrics.  I doubt you can really see it, but the one on the left is metallic.  I just need to go see Vicki for some lessons.

hpim0929.jpg

Friday, Steve’s sister and her family visited from Texas.  They come home every Christmas to visit everyone.  Six or seven of them usually end up here for spaghetti dinner and for a visit.  This year we had no kitchen table, so had sub sandwiches in the living room instead.  It was nice to see them.

Saturday it was my turn to have family visit.  Neil, Yvonne, Elizabeth and William came for part of the day.  It was so much fun to play with Elizabeth, hold wiggly William and be able to visit some with Neil and Yvonne.

Hard to tell, but this is Elizabeth looking at the calf, ready to take his picture with her new camera.

hpim0932.jpg

And she and froggy played the piano.

hpim0938.jpg

And she and froggy liked the lit up store with people inside.

hpim0940.jpg

William making faces at Grandma.

hpim0941.jpg

Grandma Gayle with both of her grandchildren.  OH HAPPY DAY!!!

hpim0948.jpg

Hey bucketheads….. those are my coiled fabric bowls!

hpim0952.jpg

Darn it….. they wouldn’t stay…..had to go….. and William had to get all bundled up again.  And Grandma pulled that plug out to see his sweet mouth!

hpim0953.jpg

Sunday we got another visitor!  His name is Flat Stanley and he came all the way from Kansas City.   I will have to make a separate entry for his visit.  Look for it later today!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. freda1951
    Dec 31, 2007 @ 16:30:03

    That looks like a lot of blessings Gayle. Glad you had such a great Christmas. Uh, that Flat Stanley sure gets around. He’s in Arkansas too!

    Reply

  2. kayp
    Dec 31, 2007 @ 17:36:44

    that’s a lot of company and a lot lovin! adorable grands. and it think the bowls make great buckets!

    Reply

  3. kayp
    Dec 31, 2007 @ 17:44:07

    well for crying in the soup! i forgot to say i’m LOVING the foiling on the trip tych!

    Reply

  4. Deb Levy
    Dec 31, 2007 @ 21:38:44

    Looks like you hada wonderful time! The foiling is looking good!

    Reply

Leave a comment