Triptych Progress

WARNING:  If you are in one of my triptych groups, and dont want to see, stop here!
I am involved in a Triptych challenge on MQResource.  We divided into groups of 3.  Each person chose a photo to send the other members in the group.  I chose to do photos of Arches National Park.  Because I am in 2 groups, I needed 6 photos.  I sent 4 of them to the other members of my groups.  They interpret them any way they want, and make them and quilt them, then send them to me.  I add the 2 of my own.  I dont know yet if I will combine mine into one larger project, or end up with 2 triptychs.  Too soon to know that.  The deadline for mailing is Feb 1, so I decided I better get busy.  Each piece of the triptych is only 8″x10″.

Part of my personal plan was to try new methods or materials.  I already posted about Kay’s. Here is the first time I did hers.

hpim1010.jpg

But I re-did it, as I was not happy with the way the foil looked.  And I thought I needed to leave room to add something after the quilting is done.  I now have her second one ready to quilt.

hpim1011.jpg

Deb L’s is the only one I did not do over.  She sent a picture of a sunset, but in black and white.  We are to interpret the sunset.  The background is painted with dye.  The land and buildings are raw edge applique.  I will cover the entire piece with a grayish purple tulle and quilt through it all.  This one is ready to quilt.

hpim1009.jpg

Miki’s theme was fireworks.  Lots of fun here.  It was hard to tell from the photo, but it looked to me like the fireworks were out over the water.  So that is how I interpreted it.  I did this one twice.  I used a mix of tintzl, angelina and hmmm, the crimped angelina that I cant remember the name of right now.  I also covered it with black tulle and fused it with Misty Fuse.  It is ready to quilt too.

hpim0984.jpg

hpim0985.jpg

Suzanne is also in 2 groups.  Her design is the same for all 6 pieces in the groups, but each person was assigned a different color.   I was assigned orange.  Interesting….  This is the 2nd time I did this one too.   This one has orange fabric, black felt, a layer of sheer something.  I have no idea where this fabric came from, or what it is called.  Just one of those things that came home with me once!

hpim1012.jpg

And I got 4 blocks done for comfort quilts for my friend Ronda.  Quilts are being made for her, and her 3 granddaughters.

hpim0998.jpg

Tomorrow I will share the quilt from hell that I just finished.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sammi
    Jan 05, 2008 @ 22:56:51

    Love your blocks for Ronda and her grandgirls. What an inspiration to use “your” words on them. So appropriate. (sigh)

    Now about your new pic at the top …… LUV LUV LUV Stan ……..

    sammi

    Reply

  2. kayp
    Jan 06, 2008 @ 12:38:29

    i’m learning so much from stan’s visit to you! and your trip tychs look wonderful!

    Reply

  3. freda1951
    Jan 06, 2008 @ 16:34:45

    I really like your triptychs too. The blocks for Ronda and the girls are very pretty.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

