How did you get here?

Today my blog reached a milestone.  20,000 hits and still counting.  (ok, I dont count, wordpress does, I just notice!)

Some of you get to my blog because you are a friend or family member and actually know me. As far as my readership goes, you are in the minority!  Maybe 10 of you?

Many of you belong to the same longarm list (MQResource) or come by way of that particular blog ring. Hi, glad to see you here.

And most readers come by way of a search.   (HUH??) Welcome!

I am amused on a daily basis by my blog stats. It gives a list of search engine terms people type in to get to my blog. Rarely does anyone look for my name, although it has happened. These are a few of my personal favorites in the last few days:

Animal Farm original book

animal farm novel

baby calf picture

barn tractor farm animal blocks

wall paint

demolition derby

derby demolition

pink dishes

dishes pink

square dishes

paverpol

and today’s favorite giggle: 

how to hold long arm sewing machine

answer:  carefully, and not for long because it is heavy.   ok, I know that is NOT what you meant.  and yes, we hold our machine handle (singular, not plural) differently than most.  gosh, i cant say it exactly as i mean it, because that somehow sounds dirty and it isnt meant that way.  (so if you still need to know how we do that, leave me a comment and i can post pictures.)

SO…… please let me know how you got here, and how often you visit.  friend?  family?  professional peer?  search term used to find me?  do you visit daily?  first time?  once in a blue moon?

any suggestions as to what you want me to discuss or show you in the future??  oh my, that is a scary question!

However it is that you got here, thanks for the visit, and please return soon.  Maybe there will be a special prize for 50,000 hits.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deb Levy
    Jan 16, 2008 @ 20:57:38

    OK, I’ll go first. I met Gayle at MQR…so I’m in the peer group. And I enjoy her art and the life events’ stories. And just so you know…I am working on the triptych…..

    Reply

  2. freda1951
    Jan 16, 2008 @ 21:17:42

    I have never met Gayle but I love her quilting and it seems like I know her from 2 web sites where we have been members. Gayle I vist your website every day. Sometimes more than once a day.

    Reply

  3. Judy
    Jan 16, 2008 @ 21:47:39

    I met Gayle online a few years ago. Then I got to meet her and Steve in person on a trip back home. I’ll put myself in the friend group. ;>)

    How often do I read your blog, EVERY time my reader shows me a new post, and sometimes several times on that post if it’s something I feel the need to think and ponder.

    Reply

  4. Spavlov
    Jan 16, 2008 @ 22:15:38

    Just being Gayle is what makes it special to me …..So few people are able to be themselves.. Love u Sally

    Reply

  5. kayp
    Jan 16, 2008 @ 22:45:12

    i’ve only met gayle “online” through quilting sites. i visit daily or when there is a new post notification.
    i enjoy reading about the everyday adventures and i am touched by your art quilting. oh and yeah, you make me laugh.

    Reply

  6. Becky
    Jan 17, 2008 @ 04:57:00

    I met you online and then one wonderful time in person! I consider you one of my good friends in quilting and everything else! I visit whenever I get a chance..sometimes daily and then there are those times that I spend hours catching up on your daily life. I love your blog!!! It is always a breath of fresh air for me! Thanks!!!

    Reply

  7. Terri
    Jan 17, 2008 @ 08:15:25

    I met Gayle online and I visit your site through the wordpress blog surfer………it is always an interesting visit!

    TerriW

    Reply

  8. Jami
    Jan 17, 2008 @ 12:01:34

    I like to think I’m an online “friend”, meeting Gayle through a longarm group. Love her art quilts…someday…maybe I’ll try one. 🙂

    Reply

  9. sammi
    Jan 17, 2008 @ 12:17:26

    I could just copy and paste Judy’s comment, except I have not had the pleasure of meeting Steve. However through Gayle I have met Judy! And it is really scary how much we (Judy and I) are alike and yet different at the same time.

    I read your blog every day and find it interesting, informative and funny!! And I love those babies ….. keep ’em coming!

    Reply

  10. sammi
    Jan 17, 2008 @ 12:18:10

    errrrr both calves and grands!

    Reply

  11. janet
    Jan 17, 2008 @ 19:41:56

    I met Gayle online and was amazed at her generosity in volunteering to teach me how to use a longarm chat room. After spending an hour teaching me I went into the room…someone said “Hi” to me and I panicked and logged off. I really will try again some day…I promise, I can do this!

    Reply

  12. AllenQuilts
    Jan 17, 2008 @ 20:14:49

    Gayle, congrats on the milestone! Be sure to read my Stanley post today…there’s a surprise in there for you & Steve 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

