Meet Chuck

Happy Groundhog’s Day! Always a big event in Pennsylvania. And always a family joke. My step-dad, (not one of my favorite people) Ted’s birthday was on groundhog’s day. It always seemed appropriate to me. And gave several of us a giggle for many years. And some of us still giggle about it. Ok, so it isnt nice. Who said I was always nice? I’m not, dont claim to be, dont wanna be.

So today we watched on tv as Punxsutawney Phil (the only TRUE weather predicting groundhog) was pulled out of his hole and saw his shadow….. thus predicting six more weeks of winter. (Well well, what a surprise. We live in Pennsylvania after all!)

Know what we think about groundhogs? We shoot em. We shoot every single one we can. At every opportunity. They are just big overgrown rats in my book. They dig huge holes and tunnel systems which are dangerous for the cows if they step in them. They dig up every darn bulb plant they can and eat the bulb. And eat roots of many other flowers. They breed as fast as rabbits. Did you know I dont like them? That is only partly why it is so tongue in cheek that we celebrate the day.

Groundhogs are also known as woodchucks. Why don’t they call it Woodchuck Day? Happy Woodchuck Day! Like the sound of that? Does it just roll of your tongue?

So today, Steve came in from the barn to tell me we have a new baby. A calf. The last calf for this cow we think. We need to ship her outa here. She is getting old and needs to be retired. She is also the best mama we have. So it is no surprise that her calf is doing well.

Which brings us to The Name Game. (remember that song?) We arent sure of the sex of this critter yet. But if it is a boy…… well we considered Ted.

Ted!
Ted, Ted bo Bed Bonana fanna fo Fed
Fee fy mo Med, Ted!
And we tried others too…… lots of others, as Steve didn’t know that song. (I can hardly believe I know a song he doesn’t other than Little Goldie Goldfish)

If it is a boy, it will be Chuck. As in Groundhog woodChuck. Appropiate for the day. So, let’s do Chuck:

Chuck!
Chuck, Chuck bo Buck Bonana fanna fo F*ck
Fee fy mo Muck, Chuck!

If it is a girl?  I have no idea.  Because we had way too much fun for one day and didn’t get that far!

Here’s Chuck:

hpim1212.jpg

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vicki W
    Feb 02, 2008 @ 22:30:01

    We don’t have to shoot them, one of the neighborhood dogs thinks groundhogs are a snack worthy of a chase! Our groundhog population has diminished significantly the last 5 years.

    Reply

  2. myolivebranch
    Feb 02, 2008 @ 23:15:08

    ah gayle, i always leave your blog with a smile on my face and a giggle in my wiggle.

    Reply

  3. AllenQuilts
    Feb 03, 2008 @ 19:58:32

    Gayle, I’m with Kay…as I sit here and laugh…

    Reply

  4. Becky
    Feb 03, 2008 @ 21:16:37

    I got a good chuckle from this one!!! By the way if the calf is a girl you could call her Chick..female version of Chuck????? LOL…

    I have had a head thumper day today…..now watching the Super Bowl Game and thumping head again!!!! YIKES

    Reply

  5. sammi
    Feb 03, 2008 @ 21:19:47

    Not fair! Not fair! I didn’t get to read this ’till Sunday night …. and I spewed wine all over my keyboard! Much stickier than coffee (sigh).

    If the baby is a girl kinda baby, how about naming her Chiclet? Chick for short?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

