Snowshoes Needed!

I needed snowshoes today!  I dont have any, so I just pulled on my snow boots and waded on through.  While Steve was putting in a new round bale of hay for the cows, I took a leisurely walk to the woods.

Leisurely.  Not.  It felt particularly cold to me (it had warmed up to a balmy 17F)  after being inside the house in pajamas for hmmmm…… well, too many days.

(News flash:  Gayle is officially tired of snow and cold and EVEN pajamas!   Yessirree….. yesterday I went completely bonkers and got cabin fever.)

Since I got cabin fever, I decided a walk was in order this afternoon.  Boots, gloves, scarf, hat, coat, hood, camera.  Heck it’s tiring just getting ready to go out the door.

The snow was about a foot deep most places, some places 18-20″.  And part of it was so frozen I could walk on top of it, only sinking in an inch.  Part of it I sunk in through to the mud below.  How weird.  The snow is frozen, the ground is muck below.

It felt good to breath fresh (albeit cold) air.  And to see sunshine.  And blue sky.  YAY!  Spring MUST be right around the corner?

hpim1343.jpg

hpim1354.jpg

hpim1359.jpg

They were more interested in me for the moment than the hay.  Highly unusual event!

hpim1362.jpg

Happy cows.

hpim1366.jpg

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. michele
    Feb 14, 2008 @ 22:47:10

    Oh, Gayle. I can’t imagine how cold it is, but bygosh it is soooo pretty.

    Reply

  2. Spavlov
    Feb 14, 2008 @ 23:01:30

    Oh My ! The pictures are so beautiful ………

    I hope you are staying warm some how …….Yes you guys have had enough snow ..
    Miss you Sally

    Reply

  3. freda1951
    Feb 15, 2008 @ 08:07:25

    It looks beautiful Gayle. Hope you thaw out soon.

    Reply

  4. Becky
    Feb 15, 2008 @ 15:46:37

    My how pretty and fresh it all looks!! I love the snow..it is so…quiet…I especially love to go for a walk at night in it with a full moon..it seems to always refresh my soul. I know you are tired of it so send it back my way…deal? LOL….enjoy…before you know it you will be sweating to beat the band.

    Reply

  5. wendysquilting
    Feb 16, 2008 @ 08:46:43

    At least we should be in the home stretch Gayle. I’m really tired of the freezing temps here. I don’t mind the snow but the dangerous wind chills well enough already. I do love your pictures though, I’m always amazed at how the pictures out our windows change so drastically.
    Its supposed to warm up later today so we’re really hoping to get out hiking this weekend. I spend far too much time inside these days.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

