Hungry Critters

hpim1471.jpg

We see critters often, but rarely feed them. And we never ever feed the deer. There are too many of them. The one above crossed the road in front of me, just as I had started down our road. I think he was headed to the corn field.

Wild animals fend for themselves. That is what nature intended right?

But this has been our week:

hpim1454.jpg

hpim1455.jpg

(I will spare you the details of the weather reports and predictions…. except to say it is the snowiest February EVER in our area.)

So we HAVE been feeding this little friend. Here he is eating a piece of bread. He has eaten 2 today so far. And it is whole grain, whole wheat in case you are worried! He also eats lettuce, but does not like grapes. (Sorry for the poor photo, but I snapped it tonite through the window when I turned on the yard light. He is directly behind my car, 8 feet from the back door.)

hpim1487.jpg

Maybe tomorrow I will give you a quilting report. Or not. Depends if I have pictures to share….. or if I decide to publish what I am working on instead. Decisions decisions decisions!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. AllenQuilts
    Feb 28, 2008 @ 20:18:46

    Awwww…I’m glad you are feeding him 🙂

    Reply

  2. Becky
    Feb 28, 2008 @ 20:57:34

    I had 2 huge owls perched in my tree right outside the fence today. They were so loud and it wasn’t dark yet…unusual.

    Reply

  3. sammi
    Feb 28, 2008 @ 23:00:31

    Thank you for helping the needy. I too think the deer stand a better chance of survival than the bunny – but with that much snow?? It has to be really hard.

    Have I told you I like your new pic?? I LOVE your new pic!

    Reply

  4. Christine
    Feb 29, 2008 @ 13:15:11

    Yikes! These long wintery reports bring to mind the book “The Long Winter” by Laura Ingalls Wilder. As a child it was hard to imagine such a harsh and bit environment.

    Hard to imagine having to survive these harsh winters without benefit of today’s amenities.

    Stay warm!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

