Taking Bets

The background:

Fridge and stove delivery scheduled for tomorrow.  Fridge is 31.5″ deep, 32.5″ wide.  so we need the doorways to be at least 31.5″ right?  and more would be good.

Back way in:  door 1 is 36″ wide.  door 2 is 30.5″ wide.  need to remove all trim to get it through, still may not be enough.  also need to move washer, dryer and freezer.  And freezer is full. (of beef of course!)

Front way in:  door 1 is 32″ wide if you take the hinge bracket off that holds the closer.  got it off.  door 2 is sliding glass door.  sigh…. it is 31″ when open.  when sliding door is off the track and out, we hope it is 32″.  will know in the morning.

Weather today was in the 60’s.  Expecting 1.5″ of rain tonite, turning to freezing rain, sleet and snow.  Supposed to have solid freeze by dawn.  Flood and ice and icing warnings.  Winter storm warning.

Two cars got stuck in the driveway today.  Steve needed 4 wheel drive in driveway today.

So….Taking all bets……

1.  Will the fridge fit thru the door?

2.  Will it come thru the back or the front?

3.  How much of the door will have to be dismantled?

4.  How many MORE doors/doorways will be dismantled?  (so far, 2 are)

5.  Will the weather cooperate enough for the delivery truck to get in the driveway without getting stuck?

I know for a fact that there are better women out there than I.    I admit that I have not been real patient about this process with Steve.  When we ordered the stove and fridge, we agreed that I would empty the fridge, have the kitchen organized enough to maneuver in there.  And Steve would handle the logistics of getting them in the house.  I asked this very question:  “will they fit thru the doorways?”  Yes of course.  How do you think we got the others in?  “well… we have since redone 3 of 4 doorways… so I thought I should ask”.

I will say this.  I have not uttered the words “I told you so”.  I have been so tempted.  He told me 2 wks ago that he would handle it …. the getting the appliances in place as long as the store delivered.   I know he will.  But I really dont wanna hear about it that he has to do this or that about the frickin door.  Cuz I thought of that WEEKS ago!

so…… my money is on…..

Gayle sleeping in, letting Steve handle it.

Arent ya’ll glad you dont have to live with ME???

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Spavlov
    Mar 03, 2008 @ 19:45:54

    I read your blog to Paul ….he asked can they take the door off the frig ?? ……………..

    …………….I would stay in bed and cover the head ……….we did a dance here with a queen size bed and very little room ……………..I couldn’t get into a bed just stayed in the corner ……………………………..

    Reply

  2. Deb Levy
    Mar 03, 2008 @ 20:16:54

    OMG…it sounds like my house! Absolutely… stay in the bed and play dead! I am so glad I’m not the only one..LOL

    Reply

  3. Karen Langseth
    Mar 03, 2008 @ 20:31:31

    Some one beat me to it, but the doors on refrigerator can come off. You should have plenty of room then.

    Karen L

    Reply

  4. kayp
    Mar 03, 2008 @ 21:04:35

    when we bought our 1916 home, the owners said, i hope you don’t have a queen size bed because the boxspring won’t go up the stairs. nope, we had a waterbed. a few years later i replaced it with…..a queen size bed (i don’t retain information when i don’t think i need it). scott had to pull the entire window (trim and all) completely out of the wall of the 2nd story bedroom in order to get it into the house. he was not happy. my bad. 🙂 he got over it.

    Reply

  5. TeresaL
    Mar 03, 2008 @ 22:32:54

    Sounds like a photo op about to happen. 😉 I do hope it all turns out okay and that the weather will hold off turning nastier until all doors are closed once again.

    Good for you for not saying “I told you so”. I think not saying it is some times more effective than stating it out loud. They then wait for it, not knowing if or when it may come from our lips….sweet revenge. 😉 Nah, I’ve never done that. Never.

    Reply

  6. Sharon Dixon
    Mar 03, 2008 @ 23:05:07

    Gayle, I’m LOL! I’ll look forward to hearing the rest of the story tomorrow.

    Reply

  7. Jami
    Mar 03, 2008 @ 23:42:26

    Yep, take the doors off the frig…you will be at least 1 1/2″ narrower that way. Been there done that! 🙂

    Reply

  8. Terri
    Mar 04, 2008 @ 08:34:23

    Oh boy………I hope it goes well, for your sake and Steve’s………..lol
    TerriW

    Reply

  9. TK42ONE
    Mar 04, 2008 @ 10:02:29

    Seeing as how I don’t want to be that 30-year-old guy who still lives with his mother, no, I am glad I don’t live with you.

    But I’d have to admit I would have assumed that any fridge would fit in the door because, well, I assume they are all the same size. The more I think about it though, the more I realize they can’t all be the same size. So, my bet is on the weather. Too much snow and ice for them to deliver. They’ll drive to the house, see the driveway, tell you they can’t deliver, and leave.

    Or….maybe they’ll try to deliver, end up carrying it from the road to the house, and your new fridge will be left inside the back door until you (or Steve) can remodel the second door to let it fit through.

    Glad you had some nice weather though. Had some here yesterday but didn’t get to enjoy it.

    Reply

  10. lindasteller
    Mar 04, 2008 @ 12:18:07

    Oh dear! I hope everything works out!

    Linda

    Reply

  11. Becky
    Mar 04, 2008 @ 14:36:14

    When I got my new fridge it came through the doorways fine..I measured but did not think about the cabinet over the opening being too low!!! Yep, you got it…I thought all fridges were the same height! I lived ofr a week with the fridge in the middle of the kitchen floor…until I took the jigsaw, myself, and chopped off a very thin slice of the underside of the cabinet. The fridge fits so snug that it is hard to pull it out to clean!! LOL…but it it there!! Good luck on your doors….I see pictures coming soon!

    Reply

  12. cinda
    Mar 05, 2008 @ 13:48:47

    This is why people hire architects and kitchen designers! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

