The Wearing of the Green

Happy St. Patrick’s Day to those of you that celebrate.

Even tho I am partly (small part) Irish, I have never really celebrated St. Patrick’s Day. I grew up in the Chicago area, so I certainly know about the celebrations. I guess it is just not my thing.

In Chicago, they dye the frickin river green.  They have done it for 43 years.  I watched them do it in 1971.   I dont get it. I never did. Still don’t. It is one of their “claims to fame”. Too bad the fame isnt about something important.

In case you want to see some pics or video of how and what they do, here is where you can. If your’e concerned about the environment and what that crap does to the river or the lake… well, try to find out what those secret ingredients are. They arent telling.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Diana
    Mar 17, 2008 @ 12:03:02

    I SAW that on the news yesterday and that was the first thing out of my mouth…”WHAT ARE THEY PUTTING IN THE WATER” That can’t be good!
    St. Patrick’s Day has never meant much to me and I’m part Irish…heck everyone is Irish on St Patty’s Day!

    Reply

  2. Deb Levy
    Mar 17, 2008 @ 21:04:16

    I am second generation Irish…my maiden name is McLaughlin…I too want to know what is that s**t they’re putting in the water??

    Reply

  3. Spavlov
    Mar 17, 2008 @ 23:36:25

    Mother always asked us to wear orange on St Patricks day so we never did celebrate in the same as some Irish did …………………..

    Reply

  4. Becky
    Mar 18, 2008 @ 15:42:54

    I wear green but that is the extent of my celebrating or acknowledging the day. Just something my grandma enforced…maiden name was Milligan! One note of importance is that in Ireland they don’t do all the green stuff…just the Irish that moved here!!! LOL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

