Elvis pants and spoons found

ok, im not editing tonite.  youre lucky to get this much!  so put in the caps wherever you wanna.  no excavating today, but it was still a great day.

so today i went to the thrift store.  local thrift store is umm, well….. not quite as upscale as salvation army.  and not nearly as nice as goodwill.  and if you live in mormon country, you are lucky enough to have di.  gosh i love di.  my sister thinks im nuts, but really.  i love di.  (deseret industries)

today was fill a grocery bag for 6 bucks day.  gotta love that.  cept i rarely find enough that i want to even fill a bag.  and im not even a very discriminite shopper.  (as you will all be able to attest to by the end of this post)

so i went to get some linens to recycle into postcards.  cept there was a little 80 somethin old lady in my way snappin up EVERY fricken hand embroidered ditty.  her daughter (who was older than i am) kept tellin her,  “mom, put it back, you dont need it.”  i kept my mouth shut and didnt even yell “yeah, put it back cuz I need it to cut up into postcards!”  nope, i was nice.

so im browsing around seeing what else i can find that would work for the recycling postcard theme.  and I SAW IT!  i found ELVIS pants.  hot pink,  ELVIS jammie bottoms.  FOR ME!! i didnt even care if they fit or not, i had to have them.  so i tuck them under my arm, fully prepared to pay 6 bucks for these pants.  well…. i may as well look for a pink shirt to make it an ensemble.  lucky day!  i found a shirt!  next i found a stack of quilt books.  by this time i was kinda loaded down, so i stacked my stuff up at the counter. …… next to the old lady’s stack of stuff, including her lovely embroidered items.  i kept browsing, but would not leave my elvis pants at the counter, fearful someone may accidentally get them in their own pile of crap nice things.

i did finally find something that may work for my  postcards.  (that turned out to be the bonus in this eventful trip.)  along the way i found some NEW jammies….. still with tags on them, PINK and in my (fat) size.  WOO HOO i was on a roll.

then i saw it.  i could NOT believe my eyes.  i walked to the shelf with adoring eyes, carefully setting my purse and ELVIS PANTS down…… to touch the CHICKEN.  i had to take this fine bird home to add to my new bird collection, even tho it wasnt a pie bird.  it was one of those moments. ….  when you know that something was meant to be.  yep, that chicken was going home with me and elvis…. well, at least elvis pants.

fast forward……..

i get home, show steve my purchases.  he is a little bewildered, but absolutely entertained that i am so happy with my six dollar purchase.  he says something about “elvis would NEVER wear those pink pants” with  which i retorted “thats exACTly why they are so darn perfect!  wouldnt susie love them?  what a scream…. i can hardly wait to tell her about them!”

so i washed my new jammies, hung them on the line… so proud of em flappin in the breeze.

several hours later (after finishing that darn quilt… pictures tomorrow maybe) i went to get my new ELVIS PANTS off the line.  and i notice a little tag sticking out of the side of the elvis pants…. kinda like a tag on jeans.

oh

my

god

i can NOT believe my eyes.

surely i am smarter than this.

no.

surely.

no.

oh my god.

did i tell you that the ms has caused me to be dyslexic?  did i tell you that it can be amusing?

i laughed so hard i cried.  and called my sister and we both laughed so hard we couldnt breathe.  steve is still laughing.

do they fit?? does it matter?  i’m keeping em!

and that chicken??  here it is.

and in its place with the flock

in case you dont understand why i HAD to have this CHICKEN…..

cuz it has not just one, but FOUR

S P O O N S !!!!!!!!!!!!!!  Yay!  i FOUND SPOONS!!

(i’m pretty sure it is cuz fannie sent me her spoons that i found the chicken.  can i name my new chicken after you fannie?)

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Spavlov
    Apr 24, 2008 @ 22:41:40

    The elvis pants ……That is soooo funny …I guess because it sounds like something I would do …………………..

    Say ! Where is this thrift store ……????sponds great …………Sally

    Reply

  2. myolivebranch
    Apr 24, 2008 @ 22:43:54

    thank you thank you thank you! what a great note to go to bed on. that was the cherry on my ice cream sundae day!

    Reply

  3. AllenQuilts
    Apr 24, 2008 @ 22:58:58

    LOL! I am so tired, you had me seeing Elvis to start with…I had to look twice b4 I caught it. Gayle, I am soooo glad you found the perfect chicken for you!

    Reply

  4. Jami
    Apr 25, 2008 @ 01:23:17

    Yep, I see Elvis too! Love your new chicken…and the spoons!

    Reply

  5. Freda Henderson
    Apr 25, 2008 @ 06:29:43

    Too funny Gayle. I like your “Elvis” jammies anyway and your chicken.

    Reply

  6. Terri
    Apr 25, 2008 @ 07:59:25

    Hey! I have those spoons!

    Reply

  7. Christine Olson
    Apr 25, 2008 @ 09:57:09

    Too, too funny!!! After reading about “Elvis”, I saw ELVIS, too!

    …And what a find with that chicken and SPOONS! I would say it was a great trip all-in-all. 🙂

    Reply

  8. sammi
    Apr 25, 2008 @ 20:00:16

    Not sure what I like best …. but I think it is your whole adventure!

    Reply

  9. Deb Levy
    Apr 25, 2008 @ 20:44:41

    Crack me up!! But they’re still cool pants 🙂 and the chicken is cute and goes with the rest of ’em…And came with spoons……meant to be!

    Reply

  10. Lynn Douglass
    Apr 26, 2008 @ 00:49:51

    Isn’t it funny how thinking we’d see “Elvis” on the pants, we did! Great story, Gayle, and I love the chicken!

    Reply

  11. Diana Wilson
    Apr 26, 2008 @ 05:19:49

    What a great post and I LOL at the ELVIS PANTS pic. Sounds like me all over the place!
    Love the chicken

    …did I ever tell you my favorite aunt calls me “chicken”? it all started as “foster chicken” but evolved.

    Reply

  12. Jan
    Apr 26, 2008 @ 19:41:28

    ROTFL Why didn’t I read this last night???? LOL I love the Elvis pants 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

