Expensive Dishes

I went to pick up my dishes today from the store I visited the other day.  The gal had them all nicely packed and waiting for me.  I could hardly wait to get them home!

They remind me of Fiestaware, but in pastels.  I am normally not a pastel person, but I am smitten by these dishes.  As usual, it is the shape.  See the petal shape of the cups?  These dishes are often called Petalware, but I think technically they are named Georgette, made by WS George in Ohio.

These dishes were very reasonably priced.  After searching Ebay and other sites….. I know they were reasonable.  But …..

…..on the way to get them I was stopped at a state patrol safety check stop.  License, insurance, registration, inspection…… check check check OOPS.  That oops cost almost twice what the dishes did!

Appointment made for Monday to get inspection, will go pay the judge on Tuesday.

Good thing I still like those dishes!

Here is our courthouse.  I took pics because I happened to have my camera in the car and the sky was pretty behind the rotunda.  Maybe next time I go there I will take pictures of the inside.

Maybe next time they will have the funds (from all of us who got tickets today) to fix the damn clock!  I spose if it is correct twice a day, that is good enough for the government?

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. freda1951
    Apr 29, 2008 @ 21:26:26

    I love your dishes Gayle. I’m sorry about the ticket. Maybe that needs to be Thursday Thumper?

    Reply

  2. Vicki W
    Apr 29, 2008 @ 21:34:37

    Those dishes rock!

    Reply

  3. Judy W
    Apr 29, 2008 @ 22:08:50

    Gayle those dishes are gorgeous!!! I love em!!! Sorry about the inspection, I got dinged for that a couple years ago down here, my neighbor got stopped the same night, same road, same expired inspection, and didn’t get dinged for it….go figure.

    Reply

  4. Deb Levy
    Apr 29, 2008 @ 22:09:12

    The dishes are really cool! As for the ticket …don’t expect them to do anything useful woth your money…yeah, I know I’m a cynical ole biddy!

    Reply

  5. Spavlov
    Apr 29, 2008 @ 22:20:19

    I love the dishes …………………..They are great ….Yes!

    Sorry to hear about the ticket ………it has been a while but I have managed a few ………………..

    Reply

  6. Diana Wilson
    Apr 30, 2008 @ 06:38:29

    I am curious…what is inspection? I don’t think we have that here in Michigan

    Reply

  7. AllenQuilts
    Apr 30, 2008 @ 08:08:54

    I love those dishes! Sorry about the oops…

    Reply

  8. Terri
    Apr 30, 2008 @ 08:22:21

    Love the dishes!! Didn’t you just get new dishes last year? Or was that someone else?! Sorry about the ticket.
    T

    I DID get new (square) dishes last year Terri! And it was a big deal in this house! This year it just seemed kind of ho hum…..you like em? well then, get em!

    G

    Reply

  9. c
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 09:27:15

    Love your new dishes. I have been looking for these everywhere! I can only find pieces….Where did you find them?

    Reply

  10. BB
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 21:56:47

    I am wondering, since this purchase was 4 years ago, if you might be interested in selling any pieces? They are lovely!

    Reply

    • Gayle
      Aug 28, 2012 @ 22:12:38

      No, BB, I really don’t want to sell any. I have added quite a few more pieces since buying these. Are you looking for something in particular?

      Reply

  11. BB
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 22:42:52

    No, I just love the dishes and have recently purchased a few pieces on-line because I rarely find anything in this pattern in thrift shops or antique stores. I live in NM. I don’t know if that is a factor. I have to say I bought 7 dessert plates recently and they have gone a long way in satisfying my craving.
    Thanks for your reply.

    Reply

    • Gayle
      Nov 18, 2012 @ 22:10:44

      I just emailed you directly. Hope you got it.

      Reply

      • Barbara Kay Boehms
        Nov 29, 2012 @ 02:12:02

        I don’t think I did get your message. Could you try again?

        >>> Gayle’s Gallery 11/18/2012 7:10 PM >>>
        Gayle commented: “I just emailed you directly. Hope you got it.”

Leave a Reply

