He loves me

Today Steve slaved in the barn.  He cleaned the box stall. (click pictures to enlarge)

The one on the left, where (ground) CHUCK is peeking through the fence rails, has not been cleaned.  (it is next)  The one on the right has been.  The one on the right was as full/high in cowshit as the one on the left.  Thats aLOT of cowshit.  ALL moved by hand.

Shoveled by hand into this wooden contraption that Steve built and put on his tractor.

Then taken to the pasture and flung by the shovel full onto the pasture grass.  sigh….. its exhausting just to watch this monumental effort.  A total of 5 full loads, a ton each load.  That means he moved BY HAND 10 tons of shit. ( No wonder he is asleep in his chair.  I think he needs to take tomorrow off.)

As I wandered around outside for a few minutes, imagine my glee when Steve called to me from the tractor:

Every year he brings me these violets from the woods.  Sometimes we go for a walk (woods walkin’) and he picks them for me.  He knows these are my all time favorite flowers.

I think he loves me.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deb Levy
    Apr 30, 2008 @ 21:06:40

    10 tons of s*&#! is a lot! I grew up with family that farmed…not an easy life. But the animals (from my perspective…I just had to play with them and love them) and the incredible taste of fresh picked and cooked food (again..I just had to eat it.) There is nothing that can compare. But Again…I just enjoyed it…didn’t have to work for it. Steve has earned his nap in the chair….and then some. But having watched ….I have a tremendous appreciation of those who do work the land. BTW…with the cost of diesel….running those tractors has to be a burden. Not to mention the increased cost of feed for the animals, due to the asinine policies that think we should take food to make gas…sorry, I should not have these tirades on your blog. feel free to delete me.

    Reply

  2. Judy
    Apr 30, 2008 @ 21:36:54

    Yep, I do believe he does!

    Reply

  3. Diana Wilson
    Apr 30, 2008 @ 21:38:07

    I love that picture of Steve offering you the flowers. Does he know how sweet that is? Love your posts about farm life, even if it is a load of crap! LOL..I crack myself up! Oh and I agree with you Deb. It is just jacking the price of our food up now too! When will it end?
    I love your blog Gay!

    Reply

  4. Sharon Dixon
    Apr 30, 2008 @ 21:58:52

    Gayle, I just love reading about you and Steve. What a guy!

    Reply

  5. Vicki W
    Apr 30, 2008 @ 22:45:04

    How sweet!

    Reply

  6. sammi
    Apr 30, 2008 @ 23:18:27

    ya know, if I didn’t have Hubs, I’d sure envy you your Steve! He is just about the bestest.

    Reply

  7. myolivebranch
    Apr 30, 2008 @ 23:18:27

    “i think you are right” she says wistfully

    Reply

  8. Janet
    May 02, 2008 @ 16:25:31

    Yup, you are one loved woman! I for one, think you deserve it : ) I love your farm stories and pictures. I would love to live on a tiny piece of land between two large farms…get it? All the beauty with no work….I’m such a city girl when it comes to getting dirty.

    Reply

  9. Mary
    May 02, 2008 @ 17:56:03

    Lucky you! I know I’m loved too but I haven’t had any flowers lately – I may just have to go get some for myself.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

