Old Steel

When I went to Mercer the other day to get my dishes, I noticed a music store that I had never seen before.  I stopped in, just to see what they had.

Steve has been interested in buying either a Dobro or some kind of console or lap steel guitar.  He was in a band for 20 years, playing some lead and mostly rhythm.  He also sang…mostly lead singer.  (The rest the time he sang backup or was a doowop girl he says)   And then a backhoe bucket crashed down on his hand on the job.  It forever changed his life.  He was no longer able to play the 6 string Spanish guitar.  That left hand has 2 permanently damaged and bent fingers.  He is lucky they were even able to save those fingers at the Cleveland Clinic.

So… the last few months he has been seriously talking about a Dobro.  When I went to the music store, it was to see if they had any.  Nope, but they could get one.  And when I turned around, there in front of me was a console steel guitar with no pedals or knee levers.  I hadnt seen one like that before (I know virtually nothing about music, other than what I like and dont like to listen to) and asked the owner about it.

Today Steve went to the store to check it out.  And came home with it.  He is beyond thrilled, and is already talking about all he needs to learn about tuning it, playing it and so on.  He has several lifelong friends that play, so I know he will be going to visit them for advice and pointers too.  It is SO fun to see him charged up like this.  It’s a bit like seeing a little boy at Christmas when he opens that present that he had hoped for ALL year.  Except for Steve has been waiting 15 years.  About time dontcha think?

This is a 1952 Gibson Console Grande steel guitar.  I love that it is older than I am!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jan
    May 02, 2008 @ 20:44:45

    That is seriously cool! Go Steve!!! 😀 And now you know we are going to want video of him playing!!!

    Reply

  2. Diana Wilson
    May 02, 2008 @ 20:57:02

    ….and you love Steve….how sweet!

    Reply

  3. Deb Levy
    May 02, 2008 @ 21:21:57

    Very , very cool!

    Reply

  4. sammi
    May 02, 2008 @ 21:24:14

    Wow! Another tear jerker for me. For Steve to have that longing and for you to be able to help fulfill that dream …… it’s beyond the pale. One of our pilots gives pedal steel lessons on YouTube – so maybe someone also gives console lessons …. or at least console “jams”. Have him check out YouTube when he can’t get ahold of a buddy. I love, love, love this story!

    Reply

  5. janetkm
    May 02, 2008 @ 23:42:20

    Gayle you never let us down…another great story!

    Reply

  6. AllenQuilts
    May 03, 2008 @ 08:57:27

    Absolutely about time! Sammi, I’m all teared up with you. I’m so glad you found it for him! And more glad that he came home with it. We all need to something we love everyday! 🙂

    Reply

  7. AllenQuilts
    May 03, 2008 @ 09:01:25

    And as I was reading this post to my DH, and got to the “it’s older than I am part”…I told my sweetie, “hey, it’s your age!” He’s a 1952 model also. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

