Trunk shows

I bet some people who read my blog dont know that I do trunk shows.  What?  What is that?

A trunk show is kind of like grown up quilter’s show and tell.  I schlepp all my crap fine art quilts (and a few traditional ones too) to wherever I am invited, and show them.  I also tell about my journey down this quilting/artistic road.  Hopefully, by the time I am finished, they have learned something….. or been inspired…. or at least felt that it was worth it to pay me the little fee I ask.  (heck it will barely cover gas expenses now)

Tonite I will speak at the meeting of the River’s Bend Quilters in Chicora, PA.  We have never been to Chicora, so we are looking forward to this evening’s jaunt.  Steve is going too, he is the night time driver.  He stays home sometimes, it all depends on what we are each doing that day.  Quilt groups are always delightful.  Fun, interesting and interested people.  It should be a relaxed, nice evening.

Tomorrow I will speak at the Mother Daughter Banquet at Faith Presbyterian Church in Hermitage, PA.  I havent been there either.  Ive been to Hermitage lots of times, but not to that church.  I am really looking forward to speaking there because it is a different kind of audience, with a variety of ages.  Picture it…… Gayle speaking from the pulpit.  What a visual!  I would have Steve take photos….. but he isn’t going.  You will just have to suffer with your self made images.

So today was pack the suitcases day.  I dont have a trunk to make it a legitimate trunk show.  Should I call it a suitcase show?  Guess not.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol
    May 05, 2008 @ 16:53:19

    Come west – to the Rockies – would love to see your trunk show. Congratulations and good luck!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Trunk shows | The Trunk Show Junkie
  3. Deb Levy
    May 05, 2008 @ 20:58:50

    Enjoy the trip…your audiences will certainly enjoy the show!

    Reply

  4. Mary
    May 06, 2008 @ 15:07:03

    Because of my blog and HeartStrings I’ve been asked several times to do these and I’ve always turned them down….. but I finally said yes to one in August. I haven’t done any public speaking in a many years and I’m a bit nervous. Any tips?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

