Posts set

The construction crew was here by 7:30.  A quick little conference first…. like are you sure you want this door here?  and that one there?  And the window here?  Those things were ironed out and they guys were quickly drilling holes.

Our builder is Mennonite I think.  I never asked, but I am guessing.  His crew is Mennonite and Amish.  I tried to be respectful of them…. and even was dressed before they got here.  (Which is a stretch for me on a gray day to be wearing something other than jammies, but hey, its ok!) I also asked about taking photos.  They seemed surprised that I asked, but thanked me.  They really dont like their pictures taken….. for religious reasons.  If I got them in the photo, it wasnt on purpose.  And only from a distance, so you cant really see their face.  Speaking of accomodating….. Steve fixed them a little make-shift privy in the barn.  They absolutely do not want to come in the house with muddy boots to use “modern facilities”, although that would be fine with us if they did.  Hey, whatever works!  If they are happy, I am too!

This is post construction, not a method I have witnessed.  Since Bobby (my late husband) was a carpenter and contractor, I am familiar with regular construction methods.  But this method is different in lots of ways, and fascinating to me.

They drilled the holes.  They had to be a little over 3 feet deep.

Some of them were right next to the foundation of the existing structure… right outside the living room door.

The bags of concrete next to each hole.  A bag was dumped in each, then water.

Poles set into holes.

And a few hours later all the posts were set with stringers.  Squared, measured, checked multiple times with levels, strings and transits.

Looking toward road.  (looking East)

Looking South

Looking West from road.

Close up …. facing West.  I think this little patio area is going to be my new coffee hangout in the morning.

And just for Sammi….. in all it’s glory.  The best it has ever looked in the 15 yrs Steve has been here.  First time the buds didnt get a hard frost.

No more construction till Monday.  Maybe I can show you some quilty stuff this weekend.  Or not.  Will wait to see how far I get with the one on my machine.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kayp
    May 09, 2008 @ 18:25:41

    yea! you are constructing! love love love the lilac bush. mine has buds but no blooms yet. patience, i know. 🙂

    Reply

  2. sammi
    May 09, 2008 @ 19:33:01

    Wow! Once construction started it is going pretty fast! Thank you, thank you for the lilac. Hmmmmmm. I can smell it from here … oh no, that’s a candle! But that’s okay, I can smell the candle and LOOK at the lilac. Hmmmmm.

    Reply

  3. Deb Levy
    May 09, 2008 @ 21:16:46

    Gotta love progress! It’s looking great. I’m sooo envious…would love to have more space, alas….won’t happen as long as we live in South Florida….which is looking like forever…but, the weather is nice.

    Reply

  4. SallyP
    May 10, 2008 @ 09:01:43

    Holly Cow ! We really have to go out and see the construction site……………Sally

    Reply

  5. Jami
    May 10, 2008 @ 11:39:52

    Can’t wait to see the pictures of the addition as the work goes on. It’s going to be up before you know it! How fun!

    Reply

  6. TeresaL
    May 10, 2008 @ 20:34:48

    What an exciting time! The addition looks like it is going to add so much usable and great space. I’m enjoying watching the transformation of the area—thanks for sharing all the photos.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

