Tyvek, siding and shingles, OH MY!

Tyvek, siding and shingles.  All in a day.  OH MY!  These guys are my heroes.  They work so well, so hard, so quickly.

Anybody need a piece of Tyvek?  I kept all the pieces that were cut out for doors and windows.  And they cut a whole roll down to size that they handed me too.  They just did not understand why I would want that.  Then I took out my triptych piece that DebL made and showed it to them.  They were so surprised that it was made of Tyvek!  And gathered up even more for me!  How much should I send you Deb?

We were SO SO happy to see the original crew back today.  The 2nd crew we had on Mon and Tues were terrific too…. and yesterday  all the crews worked elsewhere.  But the fact that the original guys were back meant that the family hit by the drunk driver was doing better.  All 4 kids are home now.  The 2 boys are doing well.  The 2 little girls will be recovering for some time with broken bones to heal.  But home is good, right?  Their Daddy is still in ICU, but improving.  The Grandpa is the foreman of the original crew.  How wonderful to see him.  How wonderful that he is feeling good about going to work after days of sitting in hospitals with family members.

Doesnt that picture above look like they are making a mess?  They were kidding about the mess today.

So after their mess was cleaned up, they asked Steve to clean up HIS mess!  He had a bunch of little bark and wood smut stuff from his firewood pile that needed to be cleaned up.   Where Steve is raking, is exactly where the pile of gravel goes.  Then they will move the gravel inside with the skid steer.  Concrete floor gets poured on top of the gravel.

Above is from the street…… looking west.

One below is looking south.

The most fun thing today was that the building crew came inside to see what we do.  They were just amazed at those BIG sewing machines!  All of them have wives or Mothers that quilt….. but one of them has a wife that quilts alot.  And is quite good at it, according to her husband.  He could not keep his eyes off the machine while I was stitching.  He was totally mesmerized.  They had watched Steve quilting a pantograph (following a pattern with a laser light) and were shocked that I was quilting (freehand)  with NO pattern.  One said he marks the cloth for his wife…. but he had no idea anyone could quilt without that pattern marked on there.  One also was discussing with Steve how the machine worked, and how to hook it up to a gas engine!  I think we all amused each other across our cultural differences.

My dreamer……..

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JudyW
    May 15, 2008 @ 20:34:06

    WOW That looks great! It’s amazing to watch this progress so quickly! And I’m glad to hear the foreman’s family is doing better.

    So, what are you going to do with those wonderful BIG pieces of Tyvek……my mind is spinning with possibilities! LOL

    Reply

  2. Gayle
    May 15, 2008 @ 20:37:45

    I am SURE I will have to send you some Judy… that’s what I will do with it!

    Reply

  3. Jami
    May 15, 2008 @ 20:41:54

    Gayle-
    Looking Good!!! This has to be so exciting getting all that new space!

    Reply

  4. Jan
    May 15, 2008 @ 21:53:40

    LOL I was thinking oh my all that tyvek before you ever said you were gathering scraps 😀 Enjoy the play time!! You deserve it!! It looks fantastic and what wonderful news about the amish family! 😀

    Reply

  5. TeresaL
    May 15, 2008 @ 22:48:59

    Gayle, things are moving along so fast! Exciting to watch the process with you.

    Reply

  6. KK
    May 16, 2008 @ 07:46:28

    Wow – you are going to have so much room! It looks wonderful – and very glad to hear the Amish family is recuperating.

    Reply

  7. freda1951
    May 16, 2008 @ 13:25:45

    It looks great Gayle. I’m glad the crew members are on the mend.

    Reply

  8. Deb Levy
    May 18, 2008 @ 12:41:44

    WOW! What a difference a week makes! Looks great Gayle. I know you and Steve are dying to be done.

    Good deal with tyvek…one can never have enough of that stuff! I’m working on a large piece and I’m using alot of it! Got your postcard, BTW…very cool, love the texture. Thanks!

    Reply

  9. Diane F
    May 18, 2008 @ 17:59:52

    Hey, they really seem to be moving right along. I also wanted to mention that I love your new header picture!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

