Back roads

We took a drive today…. all back roads.  I took so many pictures my batteries died.

I knew I wanted to go to an old barn that fell down.  Steve has known about it for a couple years, but I just discovered it a few weeks ago.

And he wanted to take me to see this pond/tree/shed that he loves.  I had never been on this road.  I think I was on about 10 different roads I had never been on before.

I made him stop as soon as I saw this tree.  It is a sycamore, fairly rare in this area.  Steve thinks we need one.

Oh, but it was even prettier from the other side!

This old house is on a road that neither of us had ventured down before.

Hope your weekend was great.  We are re-charged and ready for a busy week ahead of us.  Lots of quilts to do, a building to work on, and Steve is preparing for hay season.  Oh joy.

I did get the next several hours of listening enjoyment loaded on my mp3 player.  I am in the middle of Running with Scissors by Augusten Burroughs.  It has been entertaining, poignant and profound.  It is rare for me to laugh out loud due to a book, but this one has me laughing raucously.  Thanks for the recommendation Adam!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. freda1951
    Jun 02, 2008 @ 08:58:05

    Beautiful pix Gayle. Enjoy your week.

    Reply

  2. AllenQuilts
    Jun 02, 2008 @ 11:04:54

    I wish I could’ve gone with you…what a fun time! Love the pics.

    Reply

  3. myolivebranch
    Jun 02, 2008 @ 13:11:26

    that looks like it was a great drive in the country. beautiful sycamore tree.

    Reply

  4. rondabeyer
    Jun 03, 2008 @ 02:38:03

    What a wonderful way to spend your day with Steve, gorgeous country, I love the old barns and homes… Definitely Gods Country, I hope to see it someday….. Be well, hugs to you and Steve….

    Reply

  5. Deb Levy
    Jun 03, 2008 @ 08:42:06

    Love the tour, thanks for sharing it with us. Sometimes it’s good to just take in the beauty around us.

    Reply

  6. freda1951
    Jun 03, 2008 @ 11:29:31

    Hey, I gotta add that I love your header. It’s gorgeous.

    Reply

  7. deargina
    Jun 04, 2008 @ 11:16:16

    I love those kind of drives. Nice pics…. Hope u are well.
    LYG
    G

    Reply

  8. Warren
    Aug 17, 2008 @ 16:38:49

    Great shots. There is so much art and beauty just off the side of the road….any road. Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

