Nature’s Weirdness

I dont know what to say, other than sometimes we come across some of nature’s weirdness.  Steve brought this little gem to me the other day.

I wish I had put a ruler next to it in the photo.  The stem/stalk is 2.5 inches across.   The whole thing is about 16 inches long.  And that puff?  About 4 inches across.

What is it??

A dandelion.

Honest.

Weird.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sammi
    Jun 03, 2008 @ 22:53:32

    Even Mother Nature has an accident occasionally. I met a 15 year old with Angelman’s Syndrome Sunday night. What a blessing.

    Reply

  2. Andi
    Jun 04, 2008 @ 00:51:05

    Could it be Salsify or goatsbeard? They look like a giant dandelion, but I’m not sure what the stem looks like – that sure does look weird.

    Reply

  3. freda1951
    Jun 04, 2008 @ 09:29:26

    A dandelion on steriods perhaps?

    Reply

  4. TeresaL
    Jun 04, 2008 @ 09:31:23

    Weeds on steriods? What next? 😉 The new addition is moving along so fast. I’m eager to see it with the sheetrock/drywall put up. I bet you are excited to see it all come together and finished.

    Reply

  5. thegoldenneedle
    Jun 04, 2008 @ 15:19:20

    “hybred killer dandelions”. I hope the rest of the plant was destroyed, I would not like to see these take over the world. I’m enjoying watching the progress being made on your addition.

    Karen L

    Reply

  6. SallyP
    Jun 04, 2008 @ 20:29:49

    When we have all that corn growing around here that has been “altered” …its hard to ay what is growing ….Hope you save that ..what’sit

    Reply

Leave a Reply

